Articles tagged existentialism

Haunted by Nothingness: Emanuele Severino’s ‘The Essence of Nihilism’

Ask anyone whether something can be born of nothing, and the reply will be decisive: No! Yet we think, speak and act “as if” this were not the case.

READ more

10 Oct 2016 // 1:00 AM

Nick Cave Predicts the End of Western Civilization

With “Higgs Boson Blues”, Cave simultaneously bemoans and embraces the existential crisis caused by hyperreality.

READ more
Looking for ‘The Stranger’: Albert Camus and the Life of a Literary Classic

Camus's classic has finally earned its very own biography.

READ more

16 Jun 2016 // 1:15 AM

After Absurdism, Algiers

Jacques Ferrandez's graphic novel adaptation of Albert Camus's The Stranger is a surprising salve for grown-ups.

READ more
Outsiders and Marxists and Nazis ‘At the Existentialist Cafe’

When it comes to reconstructing the lived experience of historical figures and philosophers, the devil is in the details, and the devil is probably a Nazi.

READ more
‘Sleep of the Righteous’ Underlines Why Hilbig Had Won Almost Every German Literary Prize

Life within East Germany is exposed in all its repressive, absurd horror in a recently translated collection of short stories by Wolfgang Hilbig.

READ more
Why Does Paul Bowles’ 70-Year-Old Existential Masterpiece Continue to Test Our Limits?

The Sheltering Sky is itself a test of limits: its form is an exploration of how far one can go in novel writing.

READ more
Cannes 2015: Woody Allen’s ‘Irrational Man’ Is More of the Same

The 2015 Cannes Film Festival finds Woody Allen mining the same tropes of crimes and misdemeanors that he does with each film.

READ more
In ‘Magic in the Moonlight’, Ideas Trump Characters

The fundamentalist atheism and myopic intellectualism of Woody Allen's latest depiction of an older man/younger woman dynamic makes it a pale imitation of his best work.

READ more
Big Machine by Victor LaValle

Victor LaValle’s second novel is a Da Vinci Code for fans of Haruki Murakami and Chappelle’s Show.

READ more
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Learning the Barbarian in 'Conan Exiles'

// Moving Pixels

"There's no one better than a barbarian to teach you how to become civilized.

READ the article