Articles tagged existentialism

Patti Smith Is Some Messed Up Kind of Saint

Perhaps what Smith's Devotion teaches us most easily is the virtue of hubris.

READ more

17 May 2017 // 12:30 PM

Make America Cool Again

Joel Dinerstein's The Origins of Cool in Postwar America is an oddly reassuring handbook for the future of resistance

READ more
Haunted by Nothingness: Emanuele Severino’s ‘The Essence of Nihilism’

Ask anyone whether something can be born of nothing, and the reply will be decisive: No! Yet we think, speak and act “as if” this were not the case.

READ more

10 Oct 2016 // 2:00 AM

Nick Cave Predicts the End of Western Civilization

With “Higgs Boson Blues”, Cave simultaneously bemoans and embraces the existential crisis caused by hyperreality.

READ more
Looking for ‘The Stranger’: Albert Camus and the Life of a Literary Classic

Camus's classic has finally earned its very own biography.

READ more

16 Jun 2016 // 2:15 AM

After Absurdism, Algiers

Jacques Ferrandez's graphic novel adaptation of Albert Camus's The Stranger is a surprising salve for grown-ups.

READ more
Outsiders and Marxists and Nazis ‘At the Existentialist Cafe’

When it comes to reconstructing the lived experience of historical figures and philosophers, the devil is in the details, and the devil is probably a Nazi.

READ more
‘Sleep of the Righteous’ Underlines Why Hilbig Had Won Almost Every German Literary Prize

Life within East Germany is exposed in all its repressive, absurd horror in a recently translated collection of short stories by Wolfgang Hilbig.

READ more
Why Does Paul Bowles’ 70-Year-Old Existential Masterpiece Continue to Test Our Limits?

The Sheltering Sky is itself a test of limits: its form is an exploration of how far one can go in novel writing.

READ more
Cannes 2015: Woody Allen’s ‘Irrational Man’ Is More of the Same

The 2015 Cannes Film Festival finds Woody Allen mining the same tropes of crimes and misdemeanors that he does with each film.

READ more
In ‘Magic in the Moonlight’, Ideas Trump Characters

The fundamentalist atheism and myopic intellectualism of Woody Allen's latest depiction of an older man/younger woman dynamic makes it a pale imitation of his best work.

READ more
Big Machine by Victor LaValle

Victor LaValle’s second novel is a Da Vinci Code for fans of Haruki Murakami and Chappelle’s Show.

READ more
//Mixed media

//Blogs

Stevie Wonder Takes a Knee as Green Day and Others Also Speak Out at Global Citizen Festival

// Notes from the Road

"The 2017 Global Citizen Festival's message for social action was amplified by Stevie Wonder and many other incredible performers and notable guests.

READ the article