Lincoln Center's 2013 American Songbook Series

by Sachyn Mital

1 February 2013

The 15th season of Lincoln Center's American Songbook series has begun.
 

The 2013 American Songbook series at Lincoln Center has begun, and this year beyond the already numerous shows in the Allen Room, there are “a series of weekend-only performances by performers and composers presented in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse” which allow the audience an ever closer view of the performers.

This year’s lineup includes Tom Morello performing as ‘The Nightwatchman’ (you may recall his support for OccupyWallStreet), Bonnie “Prince” Billy (aka Will Oldham), Broadway star’s Kristin Chenoweth and Cristin Milioti (separate shows), now NYC resident Sondre Lerche, Lost in the Trees (who had the best album of 2013 according to the Wall Street Journal, and for the final performance, cellist Ben Sollee.

The lineup is below but for more details and to purchase tickets for this Lincoln Center series, visit www.americansongbook.org/.

2013 American Songbook schedule:

IN THE ALLEN ROOM

Lea Salonga
Wednesday, January 30 at 8:30

Valerie Simpson
Thursday, January 31 at 8:30

Karen Akers
Friday, February 1 at 7:30 and 9:30

Cécile McLorin Salvant
Saturday, February 2 at 8:30

Ring Them Bells! Rob Fisher Celebrates Kander & Ebb featuring Marin Mazzie & Jason Danieley with special guests Joel Grey & Chita Rivera
Wednesday, February 6 at 8:30

Bonnie “Prince” Billy
Thursday, February 7 at 8:30

Stephanie Blythe: We’ll Meet Again—The Songs of Kate Smith
Saturday, February 9 at 8:30

Sondre Lerche
Wednesday, February 13 at 8:30

Mavis Staples
Thursday, February 14 at 8:30

Kristin Chenoweth
Friday, February 15 at 7:30 and 9:30

Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman
Saturday, February 16 at 8:30

Kathy Mattea
Wednesday, February 27 at 8:30

Lost in the Trees
Thursday, February 28 at 8:30

The Songs of Tom Kitt & Brian Yorkey
with Alice Ripley, Brian d’Arcy James & Idina Menzel
Friday, March 1 at 7:30 and 9:30

Ingrid Michaelson
Saturday, March 2 at 8:30

IN THE PENTHOUSE

Lindsay Mendez & Marco Paguia
Friday, March 29 at 8:00

Meow Meow
Saturday, March 30 at 8:00

Cristin Milioti
Friday, April 5 at 8:00

Green Sneakers: A Song Cycle by Ricky Ian Gordon
Saturday, April 6 at 8:00

Kerrigan & Lowdermilk featuring Michael Arden, Nikki M. James & Josh Young
Friday, April 19 at 8:00

Ben Sollee
Saturday, April 20 at 8:00

//comments
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Pop Unmuted Podcast: Resilience, Melancholy, and Rihanna's "American Oxygen" with Dr. Robin James

// Sound Affects

"Pop Unmuted talks to Dr. Robin James about her book Resilience and Melancholy: Pop Music, Feminism, Neoliberalism and Rihanna's latest hit "American Oxygen".

READ the article
Check out PopMatters on LockerDome on LockerDome on LockerDome