ABC Sets Fall Premiere Dates



18 July 2008


ABC is opting for a pretty traditional premiere schedule this fall, loading most of its debuts into the first week of the 2008-09 season.

The network is broadcasting the Emmy Awards on Sept. 21, and most of its shows will premiere in the 10 days following the awards. “Dancing with the Stars,” “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” will each get two-hour premieres, and a special featuring magician/endurance stuntman David Blaine will also take up part of premiere week.

“We are very excited about the return of our core group of shows from last fall,” ABC Entertainment President Stephen McPherson says. “They dominated for us, and it will be great to see viewers reconnect. We are building momentum for our two new shows, ‘Opportunity Knocks’ and ‘Life on Mars,’ and are thrilled by their tremendous potential.”

Game show “Opportunity Knocks” is set to premiere Tuesday, Sept. 23, where it will be paired with the “Dancing with the Stars” results show. “Life on Mars,” which is going through a pretty extensive reworking, will follow “Grey’s Anatomy” on Oct. 9.

Midseason dates for “Lost,” “Scrubs,” “The Goode Family” and “According to Jim” haven’t been set yet. Another edition of “The Bachelor” is likely to come along in early 2009 as well.

Here are ABC’s fall premiere dates (all times Eastern):

Friday, Sept. 19
10 p.m. “20/20”

Monday, Sept. 22
8 p.m. “Dancing with the Stars” (two hours)
10 p.m. “Boston Legal” (new timeslot)

Tuesday, Sept. 23
8 p.m. “Opportunity Knocks”

Wednesday, Sept. 24
8 p.m. “Dancing with the Stars” results show (special day and time)
9 p.m. “David Blaine Special”

Thursday, Sept. 25
8 p.m. “Ugly Betty”
9 p.m. “Grey’s Anatomy” (two hours)

Sunday, Sept. 28
7 p.m. “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition” (two hours)
9 p.m. “Desperate Housewives”
10 p.m. “Brothers & Sisters”

Tuesday, Sept. 30
9 p.m. “Dancing with the Stars” results show (regular time)

Wednesday, Oct. 1
8 p.m. “Pushing Daisies”
9 p.m. “Private Practice”
10 p.m. “Dirty Sexy Money”

Friday, Oct. 3
8 p.m. “Wife Swap” (new timeslot)
9 p.m. “Supernanny” (new timeslot)

Sunday, Oct. 5
7 p.m. “America’s Funniest Home Videos”

Monday, Oct. 6
9:30 p.m. “Samantha Who?”

Thursday, Oct. 9
10 p.m. “Life on Mars”

Tuesday, Oct. 14
10 p.m. “Eli Stone” (new timeslot)

Topics: abc | fall tv
//Mixed media

Supernatural: Season 11, Episode 7 - "Plush"

// Channel Surfing

""Plush", the first true stand-alone episode of this season, is stuffed with horror movie cliches and filler.

READ the article