Call for Book Reviewers and Bloggers

Bookmark and Share
Text:AAA
Monday, Dec 20, 2010
by PopMatters Staff
Old Navy Techno Hoodies (with Built-in Headphones) [on sale for $15 through 12/24, normally $29.50]

POPMATTERS SPONSOR


Everyone wants to wear a hoodie these days and it’s practically a required fashion statement for music fans of all stripes, from hipsters to hip-hoppers and jam banders to rock fiends. Old Navy’s new Techno Hoodie offers a stylish spin for music freaks with built in, machine-washable headphones. So, you’re always plugged in, never having to search for a way to plug in your iPod. The earbuds go right through the drawstrings and the jack comes out the right pocket, so you never have to deal with unsightly wires marring your cool look. The hoodies come in men’s and women’s sizes with many colors to choose from. We’re rather keen on that Parakeet Green for women and the orange for men.


[available directly from OldNavy.com]


Bookmark and Share
Text:AAA
Friday, Dec 18, 2009
Pon Farr perfume [$30]

Ladies, do you wish you could drive a man crazy with lust, requiring him to mate within eight days or be overcome with a lethal dose of hormones? Well, even if you haven’t thought about it exactly in those terms, you probably do want to smell nice enough to cause Pon Farr, the blood fever experienced by Mr. Spock and all Vulcans. Yes, this Star Trek themed perfume has light, clean top notes of citrus, blackcurrant, lotus blossoms and water lilly with base notes from sandalwood, peach and mulberry. But no matter what it smells like, you can be guaranteed the results will be passionately illogical. $30. [www.thinkgeek.com]


Bookmark and Share
Text:AAA
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009
Zombieland hat and bag - Real Deal Brazil [$140]

One of the first steps to surviving the zombie apocalypse is looking like you know what you’re doing so other survivors decide you’d be a waste as brain-eater bait. This set from The Real Deal goes a long way towards helping you achieve the appearance of a weathered cowboy with good aim. Made in Brazil from recycled cargo truck canvas tarps, each of these hats and bags have a unique personality but all of them look like they’ve survived several adventures on the Amazon. Some are delivered with scratches, patches or writing on them, and the color varies from item to item. The Recife duffel bag is incredibly spacious and durable enough to withstand the indelicate treatment from undead airline baggage handlers. The hat can be molded into several styles, including the one preferred by Woody Harrelson’s character Tallahassee from Zombieland, but it’s up to you to decide which suits you as the new leader of the survivors. $130 for the hat and bag set. [www.realdealbrazil.com]


Tagged as: zombieland, zombies
Bookmark and Share
Text:AAA
Tuesday, Dec 15, 2009
"The Umbrella Academy" Umbrella [$24]

For readers of Dark Horse’s The Umbrella Academy—a comic book series about a dysfunctional family of super-powered siblings adopted by an eccentric genius (think The Royal Tenenbaums meets the Justice League)—this black-and-white paneled umbrella with a simple, classic design is wicked cool. It’s a practical geek possession because it not only serves as a secret handshake amongst fans, but it also, you know, stops rain from falling on your head. But if you have a comic reader on your list unfamiliar with the Academy, do them a solid and give both the umbrella and the new trade paperback, Dallas. $24 for the umbrella and $14 for the comic. [www.tfaw.com]


Bookmark and Share
Text:AAA
Friday, Dec 4, 2009
Chaser LA T-shirts - [$35.00]

Paired with the right pant and blazer, you can get away with wearing a Queen shirt to the office. Tshirt company Chase LA has taken the tshirt to new levels of sophistication with dyeing, washing, and enzyme techniques. These techniques, plus vintage concert designs, lend a specific brand of individuality (and authenticity, since some of the shirts actually feel and look 30 years old, that is, soft and faded—comfy). From Bowie to Blondie, from Roxy Music to Capital Records, these printed T’s are a great gift for the casual and savvy down-dresser on your list.


Now on PopMatters
PM Picks
Announcements
Win a 15-CD Pack of Brazilian Music CDs from Six Degrees Records! in PopMatters Contests on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.