Latest Blog Posts

by PopMatters Staff

21 Jul 2011

Father, Son, Holy Ghost
(True Panther Sounds)
US Release: 13 September

Buzz indie pop band Girls have a new album on tap, Father, Son, Holy Ghost, scheduled to drop on 13 September. The album was recorded in a basement studio in San Francisco’s Tenderloin district. Meanwhile, Christopher Owens says of this new tune, “I wrote ‘Vomit’ before Girls was even a band or an idea, this is one of the first songs I ever wrote along with ‘Substance’ and ‘Headache’ what you’re hearing in ‘Vomit’ is someone who is at life’s lowest, seeing the light, and becoming a songwriter.”

01 Honey Bunny
02 Alex
03 Die
04 Saying I Love You
05 My Ma
06 Vomit
07 Just a Song
08 Magic
09 Forgiveness
10 Love Like a River
11 Jamie Marie

by PopMatters Staff

21 Jul 2011

POPMATTERS SPONSOR—This year’s Honda Civic Tour features headliners My Chemical Romance and blink-182 with appearances at various dates from indie faves Matt & Kim and Manchester Orchestra, as well as punk heroes Rancid and Against Me! The tour covers much of the US and Canada during August through October, culminating in a huge blow-out gig October 8th in LA at the Hollywood Bowl and the final performance at the end of October at New Orleans’ VOODOO Music Experience 2011. We’ve got the dates below and you can snag tickets online at


by PopMatters Staff

21 Jul 2011

Fruit Bats
(Sub Pop)
Releasing: 2 August 2011

Eric D. Johnson conceived of the fifth Fruit Bats album as less of a group effort and more of a solitary approach, even though he brought a full live band into the LA recording sessions produced by Thom Monahan, who has worked extensively with Vetiver. Sub Pop describes the new record as “a bittersweet meditation on hitting the road, leaving the familiar behind and reinventing yourself, is a reinvention itself”.

01 Tony the Tripper
02 So Long
03 Tangie and Ray
04 Shivering Fawn
05 You’re Too Weird
06 Heart Like an Orange
07 Dolly
08 The Banishment Song
09 The Fen
10 Wild Honey
11 Picture of a Bird

by PopMatters Staff

21 Jul 2011

The Rapture are releasing their new single “How Deep Is Your Love?” digitally next Tuesday as a preview for their new DFA Records album coming out on 6 September in the US and 5th in the UK. Yesterday, The Fader premiered the new tune as a stream and you can also snag the MP3 over at DFA Records.

The Rapture, “How Deep Is Your Love” by The FADER

by Sarah Zupko

20 Jul 2011

Photos by
Sarah Zupko

Last night two of my favorite bands on the planet, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band and the Del McCoury Band, joined forces for a foot-stomping, soul movin’ version of the gospel classic “I’ll Fly Away” on the stages of the Late Show with David Letterman. The tune is the highlight of the recent American Legacies album, currently my favorite record of the year. Our very own Thomas Hauner was at last night’s Letterman appearance and we’ll have photos from the gig shortly.

You can catch Preservation Hall on tour this summer both with and without the Del MCoury Band, as both groups have a loaded summer schedule with many dates as joint appearances. Do not miss them under any circumstances if they are in your town. After the jump are a few snaps of Preservation Hall’s recent appearance at the American Music Festival over the July 4th weekend at Fitzgerald’s just outside Chicago.

//Mixed media


Stevie Wonder Takes a Knee as Green Day and Others Also Speak Out at Global Citizen Festival

// Notes from the Road

"The 2017 Global Citizen Festival's message for social action was amplified by Stevie Wonder and many other incredible performers and notable guests.

READ the article