Latest Blog Posts

by John Lindstedt

22 Apr 2010


One of our founding fathers just got an extreme home makeover. Here’s a surprisingly showy video from the Federal reserve showcasing the new hundred dollar bill (aka “The Benjamin”), which features a “3D security ribbon” and a color changing ink well. That’s cool, right? Presumably so. Being the most frequently counter fitted note, extra security measures were needed, as well as literal bells and proverbial whistles (the Liberty Bell changes from copper to green when tilted). Circulation is set to begin in 2011.

by Arnold Pan

16 Apr 2010


This Saturday, April 17, is Record Store Day, which is self-explanatory enough. To lure consumers away from iTunes and into stores to buy CDs and maybe even vinyl, indie retailers—provided you can still find one where you live—are offering loads of interesting one-offs and reissues, along with in-store performances by some heavyweight acts. The list of bands participating is pretty impressive, from Against Me! at Plan 9 Music in Richmond, VA, Drive-By Truckers at Harvest Records in Asheville, NC, and Yo La Tengo at Rhino Records in Claremont, CA. The official Record Store Day website has more information on special offers and live performances. And if it doesn’t seem too counterintuitive to you, you can hear a couple of exclusive Record Store Day tracks from Beach House streaming online, courtesy of Sub Pop.

  Beach House - The Arrangement by subpop

  Beach House - Zebra (UK Radio Edit) by subpop

by Sarah Zupko

16 Apr 2010


Not one to get left behind in the late ‘70s/early ‘80s nostalgia rush, Britain’s ska heroes the Specials are back touring and played their first U.S. live appearance in some three decades on Jimmy Fallon’s show this week.

by Arnold Pan

14 Apr 2010


Indie rock’s most eagerly awaited sentimental journey arrives stateside as Pavement plays two performances the next few days in southern California, with more to come from coast-to-coast this summer and fall. The reviews floating around the blogosphere have raved about the first reunion shows in New Zealand and Australia, but you’d expect that from fans who’ve been waiting over a decade for this to happen. What’s lost in the haze of nostalgia is that Pavement was a notoriously frustrating and sometimes diffident live act, though, at the very least, the set lists this go-around have definitely been crowd pleasers. Check out for yourself this edited sampler of songs from the March 1st show in Auckland, New Zealand, one of the few YouTube fan videos that’s not rendered unwatchable by a pogoing camera hand or audience sing-alongs.

TOUR DATES
Thu Apr 15, 2010—Fox Theater—Pomona, CA
Sun Apr 18, 2010—Coachella Festival—Indio, CA
Tue May 04, 2010—Dublin—Tripod SOLD OUT

Wed May 05, 2010—Glasgow—Barrowland Ballroom SOLD OUT

Fri May 07, 2010—Paris—Le Zenith

Sat May 08, 2010—Amsterdam—Paradiso

Mon May 10, 2010—London—Brixton Academy

Tue May 11, 2010—London—Brixton Academy SOLD OUT

Wed May 12, 2010—London—Brixton Academy SOLD OUT

Thu May 13, 2010—London—Brixton Academy SOLD OUT

Fri May 14, 2010—Minehead, West Somerset—All Tomorrow’s Parties SOLD OUT

Sat May 15, 2010—Minehead, West Somerset—All Tomorrow’s Parties SOLD OUT

Sun May 16, 2010—Minehead, West Somerset—All Tomorrow’s Parties SOLD OUT

Tue May 18, 2010—Brussels—Ancienne Belgique SOLD OUT

Wed May 19, 2010—Berlin—Astra

Thu May 20, 2010—Praha—Palac Akropolis

Fri May 21, 2010—Vienna—Arena

Sat May 22, 2010—Munich—Muffathalle

Mon May 24, 2010—Rome—Atlantico

Tue May 25, 2010—Bologna—Estragon

Fri May 28, 2010—Barcelona—Primavera Festival
Sun May 30, 2010—George, WA—Sasquatch Music Festival
Sat June 19, 2010—Toronto, ON—Olympic Island
Fri June 25, 2010—Berkeley, CA—Greek Theatre
Sun Jul 04, 2010—Roskilde—Roskilde Festival

Sun Jul 18, 2010—Chicago, IL—Pitchfork Festival
Thu Aug 12, 2010—Oslo—Oyafestival

Sat Aug 14, 2010—Gothenburg –—Way Out West Festival
Thu Sep 09, 2010—Broomfield, CO—1st Bank Center
Sat Sep 11, 2010—Kansas City, MO—Uptown Theater
Sun Sep 12, 2010—St. Paul, MN—Roy Wilkins Auditorium
Sat Sep 18, 2010—Boston, MA—Agganis Arena 

Tue Sep 21, 2010—New York, NY—Central Park Summerstage SOLD OUT

Wed Sep 22, 2010—New York, NY—Central Park Summerstage SOLD OUT

Thu Sep 23, 2010—New York, NY—Central Park Summerstage SOLD OUT

Fri Sep 24, 2010—New York, NY—Central Park Summerstage SOLD OUT
Sun Sep 26, 2010—Atlanta, GA—The Tabernacle

by PopMatters Staff

6 Apr 2010


Enter for a chance to win an all-expense paid trip to Coachella by taking the AXE Morning Alertness Test at coachella.mog.com.  Win 2 festival tickets and a chance to attend the AXE Shower sponsored Anthem Lagoon pool party VIP style.

Some big names will be playing this year’s event, including Jay-Z, Gorillaz, Pavement, Muse, Phoenix, Thom Yorke, and LCD Soundsystem.

Enter the contest.

//Mixed media
//Blogs

NYFF 2017: 'Mudbound'

// Notes from the Road

"Dee Rees’ churning and melodramatic epic follows two families in 1940s Mississippi, one black and one white, and the wars they fight abroad and at home.

READ the article