Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Speedpainting (2007) by Raoul Sinier (partial).
Bookmark and Share

Since 2001, Berlin’s Ad Noiseam has quietly become one of the world’s penultimate electronic labels. Superlatively produced recent releases from Larvae, Raoul Sinier, the Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble, Broken Note, and Roel Funcken all sit at the cutting edge of IDM, dubstep, breakcore, and glitch music today. No genre is too far out there to fit into their aesthetic.

What’s more, while they are undoubtedly one of the finest noise mongers this side of Planet Mu, they are also ethical. Label boss Nicolas Chevreux has seen fit to set a fixed donation to Amnesty International with every MP3 album bought through the Ad Noiseam website. Music industry slump, be damned!

While the label’s history stretches back almost a decade, the quality of their stable of long time artists and new signees has been growing exponentially with each passing year. So, to showcase the absolute best of the label, most of this mix has been culled from the last few years of releases. Believe me, there is a lot more gold in them thar hills. After hearing this mix, I’m sure you’ll agree that Ad Noiseam is a force to be reckoned with.


Estimating a Leg (2009) by Raoul Sinier

01. Roel Funcken - “Martyrz” (Vade, 2010)
- Start time: 0:00; Links: Ad Noiseam - Roel Funcken

02. Somatic Responses - “Reformation” (Reformation, 2009)
- Start time: 4:34; Links: Ad Noiseam - Somatic Responses

03. The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation - “The Admirals Game” (Succubus, 2009)
- Start time: 8:35; Links: Ad Noiseam - The Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation

04. Matta - “Mass” (The Lost EP, 2010)
- Start time: 15:45; Links: Ad Noiseam - Matta

05. Detritus - “Beautiful People Die [Mothboy Remix]” (Things Gone Wrong, 2009)
- Start time: 21:03; Links: Ad Noiseam - Detritus

06. Broken Note - “Let ‘Em Hang” (Terminal Static, 2009)
- Start time: 25:35; Links: Ad Noiseam - Broken Note

07. Math Head - “Terror Inc” (Stab City, 2009)
- Start time: 31:56; Links: Ad Noiseam - Math Head

08. Exillion - “Bairyhack” (It’s OK To Dance, 2008)
- Start time: 36:40; Links: Ad Noiseam - Exillion

09. Cardopusher - “Low End Legacy” (Unity Means Power, 2009)
- Start time: 39:22; Links: Ad Noiseam - Cardopusher

10. Chevron - “Renegade Cherryade” (Tuff Shite EP, 2008)
- Start time: 43:59; Links: Ad Noiseam - Chevron

11. Enduser - “More Distant Than You Think [Larvae Remix]” (Bollywood Breaks, 2004)
- Start time: 48:10; Links: Ad Noiseam - Enduser

12. Larvae - “Dischord” (Loss Leader, 2008)
- Start time: 52:17; Links: Ad Noiseam - Larvae

13. Wilt - “The Many Armed Beast [Larvae Remix]” (Cemetery Road / Dead Electroniks, 2009)
- Start time: 56:27; Links: Ad Noiseam - Wilt

14. Raoul Sinier - “Alternative Rush” (Tremens Industry, 2009)
- Start time: 59:51; Links: Ad Noiseam - Raoul Sinier

15. The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble - “Embers” (Here Be Dragons, 2009)
- Start time: 63:54; Links: Ad Noiseam - The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble

Total Running Time: 01:08:14


Compelled to words by music since 2004, Ranta's words have appeared in such esteemed publications as Exclaim!, Tiny Mix Tapes, CBC Music, and PopMatters. He also regularly votes for the Polaris Music Prize, Village Voice Pazz & Jop, Juno Awards, and in all local, provincial, and federal elections. Based in East Vancouver, he's been known to a rave and/or rant, cat whisper, play basketball, pessimistically root for the Canucks, and read far too many comment sections. He graduated with distinction from SFU in 2012, with a bachelor's degree in music.


6 May 2011
How we see things is affected by how we say things. This mix is a reflection on formerly prominent methods and modes of communication, such as the typewriter, cassette tape, and radio. Enjoy your cultural evolution.
13 Mar 2011
Don't panic! Set your faces on fun, 'cause this mix boldly goes where man has fun galore thanks to way-out tracks from Leila, Sufjan Stevens, Blockhead, AMP Live, the Cinematic Orchestra, and more!
20 Feb 2011
Through dedication to their scene and aesthetic, Bay area label Muti Music is on the brink of greatness. Unwavering commitment to their form is demonstrated by the dependable quality of their consistent releases. Dig it.
23 Dec 2010
The holidays are full of dreadful music being pumped from every speaker in every commercial business. May the latest from Soundscape provide you with a pleasant respite of solace, a bit of shelter from all the pop star vanity and pseudo-comedic novelty albums that attempt to penetrate your earholes from every angle.
Related Articles
18 Dec 2009
Albums that missed our Top 60 Albums list, but at least one of our writers loves.
25 Feb 2009
Bong-Ra's side project will slide its greasy post-rock, drone jazz fingers up your spine and linger there until you like it.
10 Jun 2008
A Ra by any other name still glitches rap like no other.
Now on PopMatters
PM Picks

© 1999-2015 All rights reserved.™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.