Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Columns

Tuesday, August 30 2005

Buccaneers Leave Manchester Disunited

In an effort to add to their respective toy chests, moguls are getting their kicks out of soccer by turning the proud pastime into a sport of corporate acquisition.


Monday, August 29 2005

LAuteurs

Hollywood may be aware of auteur theory, but it has yet to sanction it as a proper means of creating capital.


Sunday, August 28 2005

Too Rich to Be Hurting?

Football elite Terrell 'T.O.' Owens may be clearing the path for a proletariat uprising.


Thursday, August 25 2005

Down With the King

'To Elvis', Jet concluded, 'people are people regardless of race, color or creed.'


Wednesday, August 24 2005

More Than a “Muslim Problem”

Arabesque -- More Than a 'Muslim Problem' -- Explaining terrorism based on religion is a simplification and a cop-out.


Tuesday, August 23 2005

Fear and Loathing in London

In keeping with the times, the video game, Killer 7 brings on suicide bombers. Also in keeping with the times, there is no clear solution for stopping them.


Monday, August 22 2005

Same Old “Dawn”

The Recycling Binge -- Same Old 'Dawn' -- Keymoore revisits a certain Robert Rodriguez/Quentin Tarantino film to see if time has been any kinder to it, or Hollywood's, obsession with fear.


Sunday, August 21 2005

The Science Behind the So-B.I.G.

Wonder what makes a bad movie bad? Gibron offers six easy lessons in those fabulous disasters known as the So-B.I.G. films.


Thursday, August 18 2005

Hollywood Pimpin’

In 10 simple steps, Harris shows how you, too, can undermine an entire ethnicity, Tinsel Town style.


Wednesday, August 17 2005

Coffee Stalk

In her celebrity filled Hollywood strip mall coffee store job, Horn is trying to figure out in what episode of Quantum Leap 'iced old-school Americano with two Splendas' guest starred.


Monday, August 15 2005

Quixotic Days and Listless Knights

Whether chasing windmills, challenging the political machine, or indulging in classic television, the baddest Librarian continues to find art and salvation in his travels.


Sunday, August 14 2005

Mandela at 87: A Different Ball Game

As former South African president, Nelson Mandela, turned 87 last month, our correspondent, Charles Leonard, found the 'Meaning of Mandela' in a rugby stadium.


Thursday, August 11 2005

The Consumer in the Kitchen

Nixon and Khrushchev's kitchen debate taught Americans that our citizenry is 'free'-- to shop.


Wednesday, August 10 2005

‘Chick Lit’ Overload

Makowsky laments the continuing influence of 'Chick Lit' in both bookstores and movie houses worldwide.


Tuesday, August 9 2005

Challenge to a ‘Dual’

From one split personality to another, a letter of understanding.


Monday, August 8 2005

Grand Theft Autoerotic

The notoriously violent video game sneaked in some sex scenes. Now that's naughty!


Sunday, August 7 2005

The Kims Fashion Dynasties

If these two fashionistas got it together, they could rule the world.


Mr. Cent Goes to Hollywood

To be fair, with musicals out of vogue, rappers as a group are more intrinsically prepared to handle movie roles than other pop stars.


Thursday, August 4 2005

I Bling Because I’m Happy

There's a disconnect between the New Black Church and the hip-hop generation. Money, however, is the language preached from both sides.


Wednesday, August 3 2005

Travelogue: The Palio

A centuries-old, 90-second horse race, a bottle of cheap vino, and days of rivalry, camaraderie, and party-heavy pagentry.


Now on PopMatters
PM Picks
Announcements

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.