Moving Citations > Digital & Gaming Thoughts on Pop that Matter

Send suggestions for Moving Citations to movingcitations at popmatters dot com

Search Moving Citations

Latest Articles in Digital & Gaming

Monday, July 11 2011

Inside the World of Modern Professional Gaming

— Tom Cheshire (Wired, 4 July 2011)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Wednesday, April 13 2011

30 New Music Apps for iPhone, Android and iPad

— Stuart Dredge (The Guardian, 12 April 2011)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | Digital & Gaming | Music

Saturday, December 18 2010

The Guardian’s Guide to the Culture of 2010

— The Guardian (The Guardian, December 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Film | General Culture | Music | Television

The Year in Video Games

— Slate (Slate, December 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Tuesday, November 16 2010

Tuesday, September 21 2010

Learning by Playing: Video Games in the Classroom

— Sara Corbett (The New York Times Magazine, 15 September 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Education

Friday, June 11 2010

Are Video Games a Massive Waste of Time?

— Farhad Manjoo (Slate, 10 June 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Monday, April 12 2010

Friday, March 5 2010

War Games (slideshow)

— P.W. Singer (Foreign Policy, 22 February 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Politics & Government

Wednesday, February 17 2010

Pac Rat: The Fight to Preserve Old Video Games

— Clay Risen (The Atlantic, March 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Wednesday, February 10 2010

10 Literary Classics That Should Be Videogames
— Chris Kohler (Wired, 9 February 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Literature

Saturday, February 6 2010

Fair Game: The Cultural Impact of Online Gaming
— Michael Bywater (New Humanist, 4 February 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Monday, February 1 2010

All the World Is Play
— Tom Chatfield (Prospect, 16 December 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Thursday, January 14 2010

The Decade We Had
— The New York Times (The New York Times, 26 December 2009)
Filed in: American Studies | Business & Economics | Cyberculture & New Media | Digital & Gaming | Food | General Culture | History | Politics & Government

Wednesday, December 9 2009

Are You Gaming Literate?
— Troy S. Goodfellow (Crispy Gamer, 11 December 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming

Saturday, November 14 2009

Can D.I.Y. Supplant the First-Person Shooter?
— Joshuah Bearman (The New York Times Magazine, 11 November 2009)
Filed in: Culture Industry | Digital & Gaming

Monday, November 2 2009

The Book That Contains All Books
— Stephen Marche (Wall Street Journal, 17 October 2009)
Filed in: Culture Industry | Digital & Gaming | Literature

Thursday, September 10 2009

From Cavern Club to a Rooftop (audio)
—  Giles Martin (WNYC Soundcheck, 9 September 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Music

Thursday, August 20 2009

Solving the World’s Problems With a Joystick
— Ken Stier (Miller–McCune, 31 July 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Politics & Government
The WoW Factor
— Joe Yachimec (Ryerson Review of Journalism, Summer 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Mass Media
Onward Through the Fog: Computer Game Collection and the Play of Obsolescence
— Jason Thompson, Ken S. McAllister, Judd Ethan Ruggill (M/C Journal, July 2009)
Filed in: Consumerism | Digital & Gaming | General Culture

Tuesday, August 18 2009

Monday, August 17 2009

Good game?: The Behavioural Effects of Video Games
— The Economist (The Economist, 28 May 2009)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Science & Technology

Sunday, August 16 2009

While My Guitar Gently Beeps
— Daniel Radosh (The New York Times Magazine, 11 August 2009)
Filed in: Culture Industry | Digital & Gaming | Music

Friday, August 7 2009

Simmin’ the Good Life
— Phillip A. Lobo (Open Letters Monthly, August 2009)
Filed in: Business & Economics | Digital & Gaming

Tuesday, August 4 2009

Avatar Acts: Why Online Realities Need Regulation
— Michael Tennesen (Scientific American, July 2009)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | Digital & Gaming | Law
Box ad Space
Box ad Space
Tower ad Space
//Blogs

Is Black Widow Still a Hero? Dissecting the Misogynistic Outrage Against the Avengers

// Short Ends and Leader

"Black Widow may very well be the pinnacle of the modern action heroine, so why is there so much backlash about her role in the new Avengers film?

READ the article