Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

Moving Citations > General Culture Thoughts on Pop that Matter

Send suggestions for Moving Citations to movingcitations at popmatters dot com

Search Moving Citations

Latest Articles in General Culture

Saturday, December 18 2010

The Guardian’s Guide to the Culture of 2010

— The Guardian (The Guardian, December 2010)
Filed in: Digital & Gaming | Film | General Culture | Music | Television

Tuesday, December 7 2010

The Web Is (Not) Dead… If You Believe Scientific American, Not Wired

— Mark Fischetti (Scientific American, 22 November 2010)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Tuesday, November 16 2010

The Hipster in the Mirror

— Mark Greif (The New York Times, 12 November 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Lifestyle

Wednesday, October 27 2010

What Was the Hipster?

— Mark Greif (New York, 24 October 2010)
Filed in: General Culture

Wednesday, October 20 2010

What Does It Mean to Be Cool?

— Thorsten Botz-Bornstein (Philosophy Now, September 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Philosophy

What Was the Hipster?

— n+1 (n+1, 15 October 2010)
Filed in: General Culture

The War on Unhappiness

— Gary Greenberg (Harper's, September 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Psychology

Tuesday, September 21 2010

Hipster: From Cultural Icon to Caricature

— Olivia Solon (Wired, 25 August 2010)
Filed in: Consumerism | Fashion | General Culture

Resisting the Chilling Effect

— Atossa Abrahamian (The New Inquiry, 17 September 2010)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Thursday, September 16 2010

Why Are Hipsters So in Love with Cool Charts and Antique Tools?
— Jed Perl (The New Republic, 15 September 2010)
Filed in: General Culture

Wednesday, September 8 2010

Over the Moon: The Myth of Happiness
— Adam Phillips (The Guardian, 4 September 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Psychology
Facing the (Free) Music (audio)
— On the Media (WNYC, 12 March 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Music

Thursday, August 19 2010

Scandals… Why We Can’t Live Without Them
— Laura Kipnis (Slate, 18 August 2010)
Filed in: Celebrity Culture | General Culture

Monday, August 9 2010

The Intellectual Situation
— n+1 (n+1, 28 April 2010)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Tuesday, August 3 2010

Plus-Size Wars
— Ginia Bellafante (The New York Times Magazine, 28 July 2010)
Filed in: Consumerism | Fashion | Feminism | General Culture

Sunday, July 25 2010

The Web Means the End of Forgetting
— Jeffrey Rosen (The New York Times Magazine, 25 July 2010)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Tuesday, June 15 2010

Wednesday, June 9 2010

Why Self-Help Books That Promise Happiness Are a Scam
— Vanessa Richmond (Alternet, 30 May 2010)
Filed in: Culture Industry | General Culture

Wednesday, May 19 2010

The Secret to Creativity
— Robert McCrum (The Guardian, 17 May 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Literature

Wednesday, April 28 2010

The Data-Driven Life
— Gary Wolf (The New York Times Magazine, 26 April 2010)
Filed in: Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Monday, April 5 2010

Good Writers. Bad Men. Does It Matter?
—  Sam Schulman (In Character, 30 March 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Literature

Thursday, March 25 2010

Toward a New Alexandria: Imagining the Future of Libraries
— Lisbet Rausing (The New Republic, 12 March 2010)
Filed in: Education | General Culture | Literature

Friday, March 19 2010

Tuesday, March 16 2010

Is the Media’s “Hipster” Grifting Soon to End?
— Foster Kamer (The Village Voice, 16 March 2010)
Filed in: General Culture | Mass Media

Friday, March 12 2010

Thursday, March 4 2010

Google Everywhere
— Nancy Scola (The American Prospect, 17 February 2010)
Filed in: Business & Economics | Cyberculture & New Media | General Culture

Monday, February 22 2010

Openness Is Becoming the Default Social Norm
— Ryan Bigge (The Star, 14 February 2010)
Filed in: General Culture
Now on PopMatters
PM Picks
Announcements

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.