Moving Citations > Film Thoughts on Pop that Matter

Send suggestions for Moving Citations to movingcitations at popmatters dot com

Search Moving Citations

Latest Articles in Film

Friday, October 8 2010

The Strange Universe of Science Fiction Novelty Records

— Charlie Jane Anders (io9, 7 October 2010)
Filed in: Film | Music | Television

Thursday, October 7 2010

How “Howl” Changed the World

— Fred Kaplan (Slate, 24 September 2010)
Filed in: Film | Literature

‘The Breakfast Club’ at 25: Where are Claire, Andy, Brian, John and Allison?

— Susannah Gora (The Washington Post, 26 September 2010)
Filed in: Film

Monday, August 9 2010

Why Is David Lynch Pimping This Handbag?

— Sasha Watson (Slate, 5 August 2010)
Filed in: Consumerism | Film

Tuesday, August 3 2010

The Age of Laura Linney

— Frank Bruni (The New York Times Magazine, 28 July 2010)
Filed in: Film | Television

Sunday, August 1 2010

The Worst Movie Year Ever?

— Joe Queenan (The Wall Street Journal, 30 July 2010)
Filed in: Film

Wednesday, July 21 2010

Guy-sex and the Modern Lesbian

— Andrew O'Hehir (Salon, 29 January 2010)
Filed in: Film | Gay/Lesbian Culture

Wednesday, July 7 2010

Rotten to the Core: The Squishy, Smelly, Bloody Reality of Zombie Porn

— Michelle Castillo (New York Press, 26 May 2010)
Filed in: Film | Television

Thursday, June 17 2010

Sound on Sight Radio #210: World Cup of Movies (audio)

— Sound on Sight (Sound on Sight, 14 June 2010)
Filed in: Film | Sports

With Sequels and Reboots Failing, Hollywood Puts Out a Desperate Call for Original Material

— Claude Brodesser-Akner (New York, 15 June 2010)
Filed in: Film

Friday, June 11 2010

The 100 Best Films of World Cinema
— Empire (Empire, 11 June 2010)
Filed in: Film

Monday, May 3 2010

Why I Hate 3-D (And You Should Too)
— Roger Ebert (Newsweek, 29 April 2010)
Filed in: Film

Monday, March 29 2010

‘80s Remakes Rundown: From ‘A-Team’ to ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’
— Steve Spears (St. Petersburg Times , 29 March 2010)
Filed in: Film
George Lucas, the Most Hated Filmmaker in America
— Paul Hiebert (Salon, 28 March 2010)
Filed in: Film

Friday, March 19 2010

Are French Films Just ... Better?
— Andrew O'Hehir (Salon, 16 March 2010)
Filed in: European Studies | Film
The Jerks in Noah Baumbach’s Films
— Jessica Winter (Slate, 18 March 2010)
Filed in: Film

Wednesday, March 17 2010

The Wizard
— Daniel Mendelsohn (The New York Review of Books, 25 March 2010)
Filed in: Film

Monday, March 15 2010

Before ‘Avatar’... A Curious Boy (video)
— James Cameron (TED, February 2010)
Filed in: Film

Tuesday, March 9 2010

Plumbing the Depths of “The Hurt Locker”
— Ben Zimmer (Visual Thesaurus, 5 March 2010)
Filed in: Film | Language
Slate on the 82nd Annual Academy Awards
— Slate (Slate, 8 March 2010)
Filed in: Film | Television

Thursday, March 4 2010

Oscar Showdown: Dolphins vs. Free-range Cattle
— Andrew O'Hehir (Salon, 3 March 2010)
Filed in: Film
Serious Joke: The Coen Brothers’ Emergence as Jewish Humorists
— Lee Weston Sabo (Bright Lights Film Journal, February 2010)
Filed in: Film

Wednesday, March 3 2010

“Bad Form”: Contemporary Cinema’s Turn to the Perverse
— Hester Joyce and Scott Wilson (Colloquy, December 2009)
Filed in: Film

Tuesday, March 2 2010

Third Way: The Rise of 3-D
— Anthony Lane (The New Yorker, 8 March 2010)
Filed in: Film

Saturday, February 27 2010

There’s Something About Alice
— AS Byatt (The Guardian, 27 February 2010)
Filed in: Film | Literature
Stranger Than Fiction
— Evan Lerner (Seed, 25 February 2010)
Filed in: Film | Science & Technology

Friday, February 19 2010

Aging Bull: Has the Fight Gone Out of Martin Scorsese?
— Elbert Ventura (Slate, 18 February 2010)
Filed in: Film

Tuesday, February 16 2010

Sweet Bard of Youth
— David Camp (Vanity Fair, March 2010)
Filed in: Film

Sunday, February 14 2010

The Red Carpet Campaign
— Mark Harris (New York, 7 February 2010)
Filed in: Film
Box ad Space
Box ad Space
Tower ad Space
//Blogs

Is Black Widow Still a Hero? Dissecting the Misogynistic Outrage Against the Avengers

// Short Ends and Leader

"Black Widow may very well be the pinnacle of the modern action heroine, so why is there so much backlash about her role in the new Avengers film?

READ the article