Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

News

Thursday, September 11 2014

Paperhaus Announces New Self-Titled Album, Offer “Cairo” as Free Download

Washington, DC indie rock outfit Paperhaus is pleased to announce its self-titled full-length debut, to be released in January 2015.


‘Invisible Bridge’ Is an Exhaustive and Exhausting Chronicle of the ‘70s

In this brick of a book, Rick Perlstein chronicles a riveting, portentous period of American history that in many ways taught us lessons we still haven’t learned.


Wednesday, September 10 2014

The Last Bison - “Bad Country” (video) (Premiere)

The ebullient, sing-along ready "Bad Country" is but one of many highlights from the Last Bison's forthcoming album VA.


Teach Me Equals - “Knives in the Hope Chest” (album stream) (Premiere)

The innovative duo Teach Me Equals makes a strong case that maybe DIY punk and classical music aren't terribly far off with their debut, Knives in the Hope Chest.


What’s the Greatest Sitcom, Ever?

Martin Gitlin's take on the best sitcoms is bound to start a fight, somewhere.


Tuesday, September 9 2014

Brooklyn Shanti - “Garden of Ghosts (ft. Dani Mari)” (video) (Premiere)

Melancholy and contemplative, Brooklyn Shanti's "Garden of Ghosts" pairs minimalist electronics with the lovely voice of Dani Mari.


Bugs in the Dark - “Red Lines” (audio) (Premiere)

At the intersection of indie rock and occult rock you can find Bugs in the Dark and their latest single, "Red Lines".


HUGH - “I Can’t Figure You Out (Live at Sofar London)” (video) (Premiere)

The gorgeous vocal interplay that is at the forefront of HUGH's music dominates the space at Sofar's London venue.


‘Excavation’ Digs Up Memories of an Illicit Child-Teacher Relationship

This book covers the four years Wendy spent seeing her teacher, a relationship that ended before she turned 18.


Monday, September 8 2014

FaltyDL Offers Up a Droney Track With “New Haven”

A lot dreamier than the city it shares its name with.


Friday, September 5 2014

Thursday, September 4 2014

Wednesday, September 3 2014

Tuesday, September 2 2014

Friday, August 29 2014

Thursday, August 28 2014

Wednesday, August 27 2014

Tuesday, August 26 2014

Monday, August 25 2014

Friday, August 22 2014

Thursday, August 21 2014

Wednesday, August 20 2014

Tuesday, August 19 2014

Monday, August 18 2014

Now on PopMatters
PM Picks
Announcements

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.