Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past

News

Thursday, September 18 2014

‘The Green Prince’: Lies, Spies, and Denials

“My father told me, this is a dark organization, don’t go there.” Gonen Ben Itzhak sets up the moment when he decided to join


Trigger Hippy - “Trigger Hippy” (album stream) (Premiere)

Anyone on the market for some unadulterated vintage rock and roll should give Trigger Hippy's self-titled LP a spin as fast as possible.


‘How the World Was’ Is a Vivid Tale of a 20th Century California Boyhood

Above all, this celebrates the wondrous and odd details of everyday life in working-class California during the Great Depression.


Wednesday, September 17 2014

‘Psychedelic Planet’ is a Grab Bag of Global Electronic Tunes (album stream) (Premiere)

The myriad sounds of world music and the creative impulses of the electronic remix come together in the eclectic hodgepodge Psychedelic Planet, out now through Six Degrees records.


SILVA - “Ocean View” (album stream) (Premiere)

Brazilian dream-pop artist SILVA's latest album, Ocean View, offers the listener an inviting collection of dreamy, beach-worthy tunes.


Claire London - “Cut the Strings” (audio) (Premiere)

The Imogen Heap-indebted electronic of Claire London's "Cut the Strings" is a powerful sample of what's to come on her new EP, Hit the Switch.


Los Straitjackets - “Kawanga” (video) (Premiere)

Summer may have just finished, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't dive into a prime cut of surf rock like Los Straitjackets' retro ditty "Kawanga."


Tuesday, September 16 2014

Tallows - “Sea Bitch” (audio) (Premiere)

The soaring vocals and the high-range guitar riff of "Sea Bitch" make it ideal for fans of indie rock at its purest.


Monday, September 15 2014

Stream Sondre Lerche’s New Album, “Please”

Norwegian singer/songwriter Sondre Lerche has a new album, Please, out next week, but you can stream it now courtesy of NPR.


Glass Ghost - “Home for the Holidays” (audio) (Premiere)

The enigmatic "Home for the Holidays" is a perfect sample of what's to come on Glass Ghost's new LP, LYFE.


Thursday, September 11 2014

Wednesday, September 10 2014

Tuesday, September 9 2014

Monday, September 8 2014

Friday, September 5 2014

Thursday, September 4 2014

Wednesday, September 3 2014

Tuesday, September 2 2014

Friday, August 29 2014

Thursday, August 28 2014

Wednesday, August 27 2014

Tuesday, August 26 2014

Monday, August 25 2014

Friday, August 22 2014

Thursday, August 21 2014

Now on PopMatters
PM Picks
Announcements

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.