PREMIERE

These United States - "Everything Touches Everything" (video / tour dates)

by Tyler Gould

2 October 2009

 

If I were a sentient scarecrow and I were so ineffective that crows had no qualms about perching on my shoulders, I would probably be knotted with anguish and existential despair. The delightful Maxwell Sorensen-directed video for the title track from These United States’ Everything Touches Everything depicts a more devil-may-care farm appliance, who chooses instead to throw caution to the wind and rock out with his sworn avian nemeses. The song is big, both in its chunky, delicious chords, its finger-mashing treatment of the piano, and its unbridled enthusiasm, as the band sings, “it is breathtaking just to be here”. The video could not be more fun. It just couldn’t.

But wait, there’s more! These United States have just announced a bunch of tour dates with Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson, which you can find after the jump.


  
Fri, Oct 2…..Grinnell, IA…..Grinnell College - Gardner Lounge      

Sat, Oct 3…..Madison, WI…..Der Rathskeller      

Sun, Oct 4…..Minneapolis, MN…..7th St. Entry…..w/ Or The Whale

Tue, Oct 6…..Iowa City, IA…..The Mill…..w/ Paleo, Or The Whale

Wed, Oct 7…..Chicago, IL…..Subterranean…..w/ Or The Whale

Fri, Oct 9…..Louisville, KY…..WFPK - Live Lunch      

Fri, Oct 9…..Skull Alley…..w/  Jessica Lea Mayfield

Sat, Oct 10…..Lexington, KY…..Al’s Bar - WRFL’s Boomslang Fest Afterparty…..w/ Invaders

Sun, Oct 11…..Athens, OH…..Mountain Stage…..w/ Southern Culture on the Skids, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Coal Men

Wed, Oct 21…..New York, NY…..CMJ at Piano’s - ForceField PR day party      

Wed, Oct 21…..New York, NY…..CMJ at Piano’s - Official Showcase…..w/ Evan Dando

Fri, Oct 23…..Brooklyn, NY…..CMJ at Littlefield - IN*TANDEM Party      

Sat, Oct 31…..Santa Fe, NM…..Corazon…..Halloween Night

Wed, Nov 4…..Los Angeles, CA…..Spaceland…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Fri, Nov 6…..San Francisco, CA…..Hotel Utah…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Sun, Nov 8…..Portland, OR…..Mississippi Studios…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Mon, Nov 9…..Seattle, WA…..High Dive…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Tue, Nov 10…..Vancouver, BC…..Media Club…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Mon, Nov 16…..Detroit, MI…..The Café at The Majestic Theater…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Tue, Nov 17…..Toronto, ON…..Drake…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Wed, Nov 18…..Montreal, QC…..Il Motore…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Thu, Nov 19…..Brooklyn, NY…..Bell House…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

Fri, Nov 20…..New York, NY…..Mercury Lounge…..w/ Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

//comments
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Truth and Other Restrictions: 'True Detective' - Episode 7 - "Black Maps and Motel Rooms"

// Channel Surfing

"Series creator Nic Pizzolatto constructs the entire season on a simple exchange: death seems to be the metaphysical wage of knowledge.

READ the article