'The Umbrella Academy' Umbrella

by Aaron Sagers

15 December 2009


For readers of Dark Horse’s The Umbrella Academy—a comic book series about a dysfunctional family of super-powered siblings adopted by an eccentric genius (think The Royal Tenenbaums meets the Justice League)—this black-and-white paneled umbrella with a simple, classic design is wicked cool. It’s a practical geek possession because it not only serves as a secret handshake amongst fans, but it also, you know, stops rain from falling on your head. But if you have a comic reader on your list unfamiliar with the Academy, do them a solid and give both the umbrella and the new trade paperback, Dallas. $24 for the umbrella and $14 for the comic. [www.tfaw.com]

//Mixed media

Incubus Flies High and Left of the Flock at the Santa Barbara Bowl

// Notes from the Road

"Brandon Boyd’s wide-ranging metaphysical interests have long given Incubus a deeper thematic subtext than many of their alt-rock peers, so it’s no wonder the band is approaching their 25th anniversary next year.

READ the article