Carl Craig Commemorates 20 F@#&ing Years of Planet E

by Eric Allen Been

16 February 2011


Two decades ago, dance music visionary Carl Craig helped marshal in the second wave of Detroit techno by launching the leftfield-leaning label Planet E. To commemorate the 20th anniversary of the imprint, Craig is set to release on 22 February a Planet E “best of” digital compilation entitled 20 F@#&ING Years - We Ain’t Dead. The 25-track project will include electronic music classics like Moodymann’s “Dem Young Sconies” and Innerzone Orchestra’s “Bug in the Bassbin”, along with next-generation mindbenders like Recloose’s “Can’t Take It [ft. Dwele]” and a previously unreleased remix by Craig of Kenny Larkin’s “You Are”.

And in conjunction with the digital release, Craig will be hosting on his website a competition for fans to vote on tracks that should be pressed onto a limited edition Planet E vinyl box set. 

Finally, starting in March Planet E will also began releasing singles from its back catalogue, which will chosen and remixed by, among others, Ricardo Villalobos, Richie Hawtin, Kevin Saunderson and Mad Mike Banks. First up will be a Luciano remix of Recloose’s “Can’t Take It”.

The tracklisting for the compilation and the dates for Craig’s Planet E tour are listed below.

Scion A/V Presents: Carl Craig Interview from Scion A/V on Vimeo.

Latest tracks by carlcraignet
20 F@#&ING Years - We Ain’t Dead Yet – Digital compilation tracklisting
01. Moodymann – “Dem Young Sconies”
02. Attias – “Analysis”
03. Martin Buttrich – “Full Clip”
04. Lazy Fat People – “Club Silencio”
05. Recloose – “Can’t Take It [ft. Dwele]”
06. Quadrant – “Hyperprism”
07. Jona – “Altiplano”
08. Gemini – “A Moment of Insanity”
09. Paperclip People – “Clear & Present”
10. Urban Tribe – “Covert Action”
11. Balil – “Nort Route”
12. 69 – “Jam the Box”
13. 4th Wave – “Electroluv”
14. Innerzone Orchestra – “Bug in the Bassbin”
15. Urban Tribe – “Repeating Decimal”
16. Future/Past – “Clinically Inclined”
17. Flexitone – “Pulse of Revolution”
18. Carl Craig – “Dominas”
19. Niko Marks – “Chune”
20. Naomi Daniel – “Stars (DJ Dos Mix 2)”
21. Tres Demented – “Demented or Just Crazy”
22. Ican – “Pa Mi Gente”
23. Tres Demented – “Shez Satan”
24. Kenny Larkin – “You Are (C2 remix)”
25. Tribe – “Living in a New Day (C2 remix)”

Carl Craig/Planet E Tour Dates
02-19 Detroit, MI – The Works
02-25 Seattle, WA – Baltic Room
02/26 Vancouver, Canada – Lotus Sound Lounge
03-04 Berlin, Germany – Berghain
03-05 London, England - Ewer St Warehouse
03-10 Hamburg, Germany – Laeiszhalle
03-12 Vienna, Austria – Club Passage
03-16 Dublin, Ireland - Tripod
03-18 Paris, France - Showcase
03-19 Liverpool, England - Chibuku
03-23 Miami, FL - Delano Hotel Planet E 20 vs. Desolat Party
03-24 Miami, FL - Shelbourne Pool Cadenza Party
04-02 Manheim, Germany - Timewarp Festival
04-04 Mayrhofen, Austria - Snowboming Festival
04-08 Crans-Montana, Switzerland - Caprices Festival
04-13-14 Paris, France
04-15 Milan, Italy - Elita Festival
04-16 Madrid, Spain - Klubbers Day Festival
04-23 Manchester, England

We all know how critical it is to keep independent voices alive and strong on the Internet. Please consider a donation to support our work. We are a wholly independent, women-owned, small company. Your donation will help PopMatters stay viable through these changing, challenging times where costs have risen and advertising has dropped precipitously. PopMatters needs your help to keep publishing. Thank you.

//Mixed media

U2's 'The Joshua Tree' Tour Reminds the Audience of their Politics

// Notes from the Road

"The Joshua Tree tour highlights U2's classic album with an epic and unforgettable new experience.

READ the article