Call for Essays About Any Aspect of Popular Culture, Present or Past


Hercules and Love Affair - "Release Me" (DJ-Kicks) (video)

Bookmark and Share
Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012
by PopMatters Staff
Hercules and Love Affair's 'DJ Kicks' set released yesterday via !K7 and it's a tribute to everything house, from the classic to the contemporary.

Andy Butler says, “It’s fun to remind myself why I like old records. I’m naturally drawn to a more classic sound. When it comes to dancing I’m more inspired to get on up and shake it if feels like there’s a lot of substance and depth to a record.”

“Release Me” is Hercules and Love Affair’s original contribution to the mix. Check out the full tracklist below.


TRACK LIST (* = DJ-Kicks Exclusive )

01. Mankind – Don’t Keep Me Waiting
02. Rhythm Mode:D – Can You Feel It (Reach To The Top)
03. Hercules And Love Affair – Release Me (DJ-Kicks) *
04. Fax Yourself – Strut Your Techno Stuff
05. Klubb Kidz – Don’t Want To Hurt You (Skool Flava Dub)
06. Solution – Feels So Right
07. DJ Duke Presents Freedom – Love Don’t Come Easy (Power Dub)
08. Cloud 9 – Do You Want Me
09. Mark Imperial – The Acieed That Ate New York
10. Inflagranti – Magojiro
11. Haze Factory – A Bit Of Redemption *
12. Fierce Ruling Diva – Allemaal, Allemaal!
13. Jump Chico Slamm – Feel Free
14. Z.A.M. – Africa Freedom (Johannesburg Dub Mix)

Related Articles
9 Dec 2014
Like a gluttonous monarch with a taste for domination, electronic dance music continued to saturate the airwaves and feast upon the U.S. charts in 2014.
2 Jun 2013
This record's vintage house goes on so intolerably long that you become nostalgic for the present.
By PopMatters Staff
2 Oct 2012
The Viennese duo of Hercules and Love Affair are working on their new album currently, but they have managed to compile a DJ-Kicks collection in the meantime.
24 Aug 2011
What do you get when one of the most innovative dance producers working today tackles one of the most irritating music trends in the last 30 years?
Now on PopMatters
PM Picks

© 1999-2015 All rights reserved.™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.