Various Artists

Bear Traces: Nuggets from Bob's Barn

by Justin Cober-Lake

31 October 2011

cover art

Various Artists

Bear Traces: Nuggets from Bob's Barn

(Sub Rosa)
US: 2 Aug 2011
UK: 3 Oct 2011

Like a previous release in the “Dr. Boogie Presents” series, this disc compiles 78 records from the collection of Canned Heat founder and vocalist Bob Hite. Hite gathered an enormous set of records through the 1960s and saved much music that would otherwise be forgotten. The set chosen here hints at the sound that influenced Canned Heat in its early years, when the band had more of a boogie-influenced sound. Not all of the cuts here fit that mold, but nearly all of them are entertaining. Despite the appeal of the obscure artists gathered, Lightnin’ Hopkins provides the stand out performance with “Move on out Boogie”, a relatively early and crazed cut. The disc might honor Hite’s musical tastes, but it probably says as much about the ability of Dr. Boogie (or Walter De Paduwa) to pick out the gems.

Bear Traces: Nuggets from Bob's Barn



We all know how critical it is to keep independent voices alive and strong on the Internet. Please consider a donation to support our work as independent cultural critics and historians. Your donation will help PopMatters stay viable through these changing and challenging times where costs have risen and advertising has dropped precipitously. We need your help to keep PopMatters strong and growing. Thank you.


//Mixed media

Call for Essays on Topics in Culture; Present, Past and the Speculative Future

// Announcements

"PopMatters (est. 1999) is a respected source for smart long-form reading on a wide range of topics in culture. PopMatters serves as…

READ the article