everybody's pain is magnificent

by Deanne Sole

6 November 2011

cover art


everybody's pain is magnificent

(New Amsterdam)
US: 27 Sep 2011
UK: 27 Sep 2011

Composed by a violinist and a guitarist, “Everybody’s Pain is Magnificent is inhabited by sweeps and groans and billows and feathery-explosive falls. The 88-minute, two-disc, near-wordless sound-scape sounds human, fibrous, organic, as if it’s being sung by strangely-voiced and longing monsters. Maybe monsters who’ve been listening to Sigur Rós, since a rare passage of singing in “always look up (always look up)” sent my mind flying off to the ah-ah-ah of Jónsi Birgisson. Even the non-human sounds have the texture of voices in the way a violin does, that catching grunt of bow on string, two abrasive surfaces working against one another in a physical way, in a space whose reality you believe you can detect. Postrock, personated.

everybody's pain is magnificent



We all know how critical it is to keep independent voices alive and strong on the Internet. Please consider a donation to support our work as independent cultural critics and historians. Your donation will help PopMatters stay viable through these changing and challenging times where costs have risen and advertising has dropped precipitously. We need your help to keep PopMatters strong and growing. Thank you.


//Mixed media

Saul Williams Commands Attention at Summerstage (Photos + Video)

// Notes from the Road

"Saul Williams played a free, powerful Summerstage show ahead of his appearance at Afropunk this weekend.

READ the article