Sean Bones

Buzzards Boy

by Jedd Beaudoin

3 June 2012

cover art

Sean Bones

Buzzards Boy

(S/S Friends)
US: 8 May 2012
UK: Import

The sophomore release from indie popper Sean Bones covers a wide terrain––a mishmash of music one might find in the Caribbean and on the summer streets of cities throughout the U.S., all of it easy to dance and groove to. “Four Dub” takes us to space via a boom box and an intimate vocal performance; “Tell Me Again” takes us to the dance floor and the bedroom, while “Cobra Trips” is a journey to Strawberry Fields on a cloud-tinged afternoon. There are moments when you don’t want to like this record––you start questioning whether it’s too produced, whether it’s too eclectic, whether Bones is just another pretty face. Then the first chorus or verse kicks in and you wonder how you could have been so silly as to question The Truth when you heard it.

Buzzards Boy


We all know how critical it is to keep independent voices alive and strong on the Internet. Please consider a donation to support our work. We are a wholly independent, women-owned, small company. Your donation will help PopMatters stay viable through these changing, challenging times where costs have risen and advertising has dropped precipitously. PopMatters needs your help to keep publishing. Thank you.

//Mixed media

Call for Music Writers... Hip-Hop, Soul, Electronic, Rock, Indie, Americana, Jazz, World and More

// Announcements

"PopMatters is looking for smart music writers. We're looking for talented writers with deep genre knowledge of music and its present and…

READ the article