CFP: The Legacy of Radiohead's 'The Bends' 20 Years On [Deadlines: 4 Feb / 19 Feb]

cover art

Tommie Sunshine

Relax, This Won't Hurt

(Ultra; US: 28 Oct 2008; UK: Available as import)

As a remixer, Tommie Sunshine is beyond compare. Bringing a gritty rock edge to what normally gets passed off as typical rave fodder, Sunshine’s ear for a solid melody has snagged him some top-choice gigs in a very short amount of time, leading all the way up to remixing the latest Britney Spears single. For Relax, This Won’t Hurt—his second major long-form dance mix album—he decides to ignore his otherwise extraordinary taste-making abilities and treat us to a disc filled with bland four-on-the-floor fodder. 

This set features songs that are too minimal to be called house music, too simplistic to be called rave, and all far too boring to be called entertaining. Boy 8-Bit’s “Fogbank” appears to cop the depressing final-stage music from the NES game Master Blaster and turn it into a painfully unimaginative dancefloor burner. Detboi’s “Jump Up Jump Down” comes off as a tepid rewrite of Basement Jaxx’s “Yo-Yo”, the Faint’s “The Geeks Were Right [Boys Noize vs. D.I.M. Remix]” exhausts its strobe-synth melody line far too early on, and even Sunshine’s own collaboration with the Aston Shuffle underplays its nearly-anthemic hook with a stale drum pattern that, tragically, undercuts its stadium-rocking potential. 

A few songs make it through unscathed (Surkin’s 80s-pop throwback “Chrome Knight”, the Audio Bullys’ “Flickery Vision [Extended Mix]”—here twisting and turning like a lost Mr. Oizo classic), but, by and large, Sunshine’s track record raises expectations for this CD to absurdly high levels, making his underperformance all the more surprising and all the more disappointing.


Evan Sawdey started contributing to PopMatters in late 2005, and has also had his work featured in publications such as SLUG Magazine, The Metro (U.K.), Soundvenue Magazine (Denmark), the Daily Dot, and many more. Evan has been a guest on HuffPost Live, RevotTV's "Revolt Live!", and WNYC's Soundcheck (an NPR affiliate), was the Executive Producer for the Good With Words: A Tribute to Benjamin Durdle album, and wrote the liner notes for the 2011 re-release of Andre Cymone's hit 1985 album A.C. (Big Break Records), the 2012 re-release of 'Til Tuesday's 1985 debut Voices Carry (Hot Shot Records), and many others. He currently resides in Chicago, Illinois. You can follow him @SawdEye should you be so inclined.

Now on PopMatters
PM Picks

© 1999-2015 All rights reserved.™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.