Various Artists

Tiny Idols, Volume 2

by Stephen Haag

30 October 2006


Kudos to whoever picked the interstellar artwork for Tiny Idols, Volume 2—the indie-pop gems collected here, from 1995-2000, sound light years removed from the lunkheaded rap-metal and dour post-grunge that dominated the airwaves at the end of the 20th century. Like its predecessor, Tiny Idols, Volume 2 is full of bright pop made by coulda-beens and never-weres, college-aged guys and gals with the pop know-how, who, in a perfect world, would’ve broken bigger than college radio. There’s nothing but gems here, from the psychedelic boy/girl vox of Sugarboom (“Rock Star”) to John T. Baker’s Beach-Boys-as-hometapers “My Pet Smiles” and 18 other utterly charming tunes. As well, the liner notes, by series curator Mark Griffey, are a labor of love, though it becomes sad to read stories over and over of bands forced to break up when their big break never arrived. These bands may be long gone, but they’re not forgotten. Volume 3 can’t come soon enough.

Tiny Idols, Volume 2



We all know how critical it is to keep independent voices alive and strong on the Internet. Please consider a donation to support our work as independent cultural critics and historians. Your donation will help PopMatters stay viable through these changing and challenging times where costs have risen and advertising has dropped precipitously. We need your help to keep PopMatters strong and growing. Thank you.


//Mixed media

Saul Williams Commands Attention at Summerstage (Photos + Video)

// Notes from the Road

"Saul Williams played a free, powerful Summerstage show ahead of his appearance at Afropunk this weekend.

READ the article