Race and Sci-fi Theory: Not Just for Dissertations Anymore

Race and Sci-fi Theory: Not Just for Dissertations Anymore

By Dawn Eyestone

Ever thought Toni Morrison's Beloved has a place at ComicCon? Carringont's Speculative Blackness might be for you. 25 Jul 2016 // 8:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

I really am not interested in characters I grew up with being sullied.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Shadowboxer (2005)

While their profession is both odious and familiar, Mikey and Rose's sexual relationship is less commonplace.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

ATL (2006)

Chris Robinson says of Atlanta, "It's got a very negative history that it's trying to rewrite. It's a city in transition. I wanted Atlanta to definitely be a character that you can feel."

READ more
Boys Briefs 4: Six Short Films About Guys Who Hustle (2006)

Gigolo demonstrates how the queer hustler -- tragic, romantic, and heroic -- still has the power to shock and to demand social change.

READ more
My Super Ex-Girlfriend (2006)

Eddie Izzard brings a whole other dimension to My Super Ex-Girlfriend, being wily and subversive rather than flamboyant.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Lady in the Water (2006)

Story's whiter-than-white skin, bloody cuts, color-shifting hair, and need to keep wet make her a bizarre amalgamation of fantasies, alternately "male" and "childish."

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Clerks II (2006)

The point of Clerks, either number, is talk -- speedy, competitive, clever banter that recalls, in its profane way, the rhythms of old Ben Hecht comedies.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Phish: Live in Brooklyn

A philosophical question: can one reach enlightenment through virtuosity and spectacle?

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Lenine: Lenine

On this U.S. collection of songs culled from his last three albums, Lenine steps in where the older generation of the Musica Popular Brasileira vanguard left off.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Cheap Trick: Rockford

Cheap Trick had their best moments early in their 30-year history...until now. Rockford takes us back to a time when the entire album was worth the listen.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Call For Papers: Celebrating Star Trek's 50th Anniversary

// Announcements

"To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the hit franchise, PopMatters seeks submissions about Star Trek, including: the TV series, from The Original Series (TOS) to the highly anticipated 2017 new installment; the films, both the originals and the J.J. Abrams reboot; and ancillary materials such as novelizations, comic books, videogames, etc.

READ the article