St. Lenox: Ten Hymns From My American Gothic

St. Lenox: Ten Hymns From My American Gothic

By John Paul

Albums of such shear artistry, originality and thematic immediacy are few and far between. Ten Hymns From My American Gothic is the album of perspective and hope we need in this time of political and social unrest. 28 Oct 2016 // 2:25 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

ASV is the tandem of Alice and Scott Vestal, two musicians known to anyone associated with the Appalachian region, the fiddle and the link between

READ more
Don Byron: Do the Boomerang: The Music of Junior Walker

Byron's spark on this Junior Walker tribute is cooled by the work of the featured vocalists, ultimately directing listeners to the just go to the source.

READ more

2 Oct 2006 // 8:00 AM

Kath Bloom: Finally

Less avant-garde than her work with Loren Mazzacane Connors, but transparently lovely, Finally marks the return of an eccentric and engaging songwriter.

READ more
Jeff Walker und die Fluffers: Welcome to Carcass Cuntry

Former grindcore great goes hillbilly. Why not?

READ more
Boy Eats Drum Machine: Pleasure

Boy Eats Drum Machine mines some freely available breaks to create an album that's... interesting.

READ more

2 Oct 2006 // 2:00 AM

Republic of Safety: Vacation

Since the evolution of Broken Social Scene, the musical communities of Toronto and Montreal have tightened, with people from both cities co-operating in different bands

READ more

2 Oct 2006 // 1:00 AM


When his friend suggested he was deluding himself, Hiro said, "I want to be special." Subtlety is not going to be a strong suit in the series.

READ more

2 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Sunset Boulevard (1950)

Sunset Boulevard is the best gothic film never made by Alfred Hitchcock. It still resonates as a comment upon our obsession with celebrity and the price that obsession exacts upon our lives and the lives of those we perpetually idolize and, on occasion, have forgotten entirely.

READ more

2 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

The Killers: Sams Town

"This album is one of the best albums in the past 20 years. There's nothing that touches this album." -- Brandon Flowers, to MTV News, May 2006

READ more
Fantastic Four: First Family

Sue sums up the thrust of the series, saying, "We're not born heroes, but we can learn."

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media

Tricks or Treats? Ten Halloween Blu-rays That May Disrupt Your Life

// Short Ends and Leader

"The best of this stuff'll kill you.

READ the article