Call for Book Reviewers and Bloggers

Reviews

Thursday, February 14 2002

Crossroads (2002)

Unlike the audiences at most movie previews, these folks at 'Crossroads' were amped.


Wednesday, February 13 2002

Kleenex Girl Wonder

S E T    L I S T AmeliaTake My Heart and Rub itReunited AirlinesBack in Black (snippet)That’s Why I Write Such


Monday, February 11 2002

Johnny Cash: The Essential Johnny Cash

Thousands of words have been spilled over Johnny Cash, and more have accompanied this new two-disc set, which collects 36 songs from across the first four


Sunday, February 10 2002

Dick Dale

The Second Wave of Music from the Extreme A lot of people, the majority young indie-looking types, felt this was a show not to be


Saturday, February 9 2002

Jill Sobule

S E T    L I S T JetpackBitterJoey (Heatherton)(Ex-gay ministry song)MargaretKaren by NightThe Money Shot(I Live like a) FreshmanHeroesLucy at


Friday, February 8 2002

Baaba Maal

The Triumph of Pure Sound Baaba Maal was supposed to be onstage at 8:00 p.m., and now it’s 8:25, and the crowd is getting as


Thursday, February 7 2002

Chris Smither

We had only been there five minutes and already I was annoyed. Having never been to McCabe’s Guitar Shop, it was not remotely what


Rollerball (2002)

PULL.


Collateral Damage (2002)

As Schwarzenegger described the whole shebang to the guys on 'Fox NFL Sunday', 'There's some serious butt-kicking going on.'"


Tuesday, February 5 2002

Stereophonics + JJ72

Stereophonics JJ72 What Comes After Britpop? Or, the Stereophonics Take Your American Hype and Shove It While much of his fellow UK fraternity are busy


Monday, February 4 2002

Various Artists: From Hell to Breakfast: A Taste of Sugar Hill’s Texas Singer-Songwriters

Texas claims to be the best at a lot of things, and quite frankly, it annoys nearly every other state in the Union. One thing


Robert Bradley’s Blackwater Surprise: New Ground

Robert Bradley is going to keep writing songs and playing them whether you buy this CD or not. I know this because that is what


ballboy: Club Anthems

Even in their self-pitying mire of daily life, the Scots have given us Yanks a lot to enjoy. We owe them for Belle & Sebastian,


David Benoit: Fuzzy Logic

The picture of David Benoit that stares out from the inner sleeve has a slightly sinister aspect to it. Benoit looks rather like one of


All Girl Summer Fun Band: self-titled

All Girl Summer Fun Band is too cute for its own good with its bright, girly vocals and giddy retro-pop, but you’ll love the


Thursday, January 31 2002

Slackers (2002)

Some movies just don't need to be made. And some movies work extra hard to educe comments just like that one, making the extra effort to gross you out, to annoy, alarm, or titillate you.


Birthday Girl (2002)

. . . a mildly enjoyable film, offering some giggles and even a few shocking revelations.


Monday, January 28 2002

The Charlatans UK + Starsailor

Starsailor S E T    L I S T StarsailorAlcoholicPoor Misguided FoolShe Just WeptFeverLullabyLove is HereTie Up My HandsGood Souls Charlatans + StarsailorIt’s All


Various Artists: Sounds from the Verve Hi-Fi Compiled by Thievery Corporation

The American Bossa craze started in 1962, prior to the arrival of the Beatles in the US and the eternal transformation of pop music that resulted.


Various Artists: Hit Me With Your 80’s Box

The 1980s have been compared to the Eisenhower years, with the ‘90s roughly equating to the incredible period of wealth building that followed the end


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks
Win a 15-CD Pack of Brazilian Music CDs from Six Degrees Records! in PopMatters Contests on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.