Marguerite Duras: A Sublime Passion

Marguerite Duras: A Sublime Passion

By Hans Rollman

An intimate interview with France’s acclaimed woman of letters reveals the power of silence. 24 Aug 2016 // 8:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

25 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Geka: Station

Eight fragile songs for sitting alone and staring out the window.

READ more

Joi

24 Jul 2006 // 4:00 PM

Joi

not to mention almost every OutKast record. So why has no one heard of her?

READ more
Massively Multiplayer Pong

I am not certain what the purpose of the game is. Indeed, I am not certain that this media product can be categorized as a game at all.

READ more
One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern (2005)

It's alarming, and not a little heartbreaking, that George McGovern's call for taking responsibility and acknowledging mistakes remains relevant to this day.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Kamikaze Diaries by Emiko Ohnuki-Tierney

No matter how much they read, how hard they attempted to justify their deaths, the boy pilots ultimately felt lost, afraid to die alone.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Brothers of the Head (2005)

Brothers of the Head explores the overlaps between fiction and reality as they constitute rock-stardom, and more expansively, sexuality, desire, and consumption.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Jurassic 5: Feedback

With their third full-length release, Feedback, Jurassic 5 won't disappoint fans, but they all but guarantee that they'll never produce the 'Future Sound' they've been promising for the last decade.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tom Petty: Highway Companion

"Ankle Deep" conjures up a pretty lively harmonic resemblance to Steve Goodman's "You Never Even Called Me By My Name", which, in the context of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' biting of "Dani Califonia", turns this sentence quickly into a fun game of Six Degrees of Tom Petty.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tomcraft: Hyper Sexy Conscious

There isn't a single track on the entire album that manages to rise above the level of tepid familiarity.

READ more
Various Artists: Easy to be Free

Although this 20-track tribute album doesn't contain any big stars, the selections include material from every phase of Nelson's career and reveal the depth of his talents.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Virtual Reality and Storytelling: What Happens When Art and Technology Collide?

// Moving Pixels

"Virtual reality is changing the face of entertainment, and I can see a future when I will find myself inside VR listening to some psych-rock while meditating on an asteroid.

READ the article