Vince Staples: Summertime '06

Vince Staples: Summertime '06

By Colin Fitzgerald

The Long Beach rapper steps out with a coming-of-age story on his bold debut album full of stark beats and penetrating lyrics. 6 Jul 2015 // 2:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews
	The Allman Brothers Band: The Essential Allman Brothers Band: The Epic Years

Of the numerous vintage acts still touring and recording, how many sound as good as they did at their respective peaks? The Stones? Forget it.

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Rainer MariaPhoto: Danielle St. Laurent The Japanese don’t like to do anything, how can I put this eloquently, “half-assed”. Generally speaking, for them it’

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Jay Farrar Has there ever been a singer who shied from his spotlight like Jay Farrar? During his recent show at Boulder, Colorado’s Fox

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

BraidPhoto: Nathan Keay After six years, three full-length recordings, a whole whack of 7"s, and countless shows, Braid decided to call it quits in August 1999.

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Bitter Bitter Weeks Philadelphia’s Khyber is one of those small slash cum concert venues that you find in every city. Not too clean and

READ more

Bonnie “Prince” BillyPhoto credit: Florent Mazzolini Purplene A few weeks ago you couldn’t spit on a street music rag in Sydney without hitting an

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

North Shore

The truth is that I watch North Shore because I have an affinity for trash, or opala, as we call it in the 50th State.

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Green Wing

Green Wing shows us that life is often stranger than fiction, if we let it be.

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

CSI: NY

Ground Zero, the address -- spoken here as goal, location, memorial, toxic vapor -- is also necessarily disturbing as such.

READ more

27 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Blue Collar TV

When I watched Blue Collar TV, I couldn't help but think of how homogenized images of 'working class' folks have become.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article