Foxygen: Hang

Foxygen: Hang

By John Paul

With full orchestra in tow, Foxygen’s Sam France and Jonathan Rado deliver an absurdly overblown, gloriously over-the-top album celebrating all of pop's excesses without the slightest hint of ironic detachment. 20 Jan 2017 // 1:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

13 Dec 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Killa Kela: Elocution

The esteemed British beatboxer takes on songwriting, singing, and rapping -- and winds up with his very own Graffiti Bridge.

READ more
	The Darkness: One Way Ticket to Hell… and Back

Simply put, rock and roll don't get no realer as we hit the home stretch of the new millennium's first decade.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Drums & Tuba: Battles Ole

Drums & Tuba do not always hit the mark on Battles Ole, but they produce some arresting moments, and they seldom fail to be interesting.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 10:00 PM

	The Chap: Ham

Group of intellectual reprobate Brit pranksters proffer a sophomore album that values everything, is sweetly sad, rocks stoopid hard, and holds nothing sacred. Get your Ham on!"

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 12:00 AM

The first thing Metzler, an acclaimed novelist in his own right, and artist Rags Morales do is ground their tale in very human concerns.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 12:00 AM

Black Mountain + Dead Meadow

Marijuana has been an ingredient in many musical concoctions. But it's also spawned a genre that isn't always as inspired as the musicians that inspired it. That's why we enter with caution.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 12:00 AM

Pioneers of Primetime

Combining personal stories with some historical commentary, Pioneers of Primetime covers both the personal and the epic sides of a media evolution.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 12:00 AM

Daisy Does America

I don't need Daisy Donovan to tell me we're weird, that we behave irrationally.

READ more
Never Have Your Dog Stuffed and Other Things I’ve Learned by Alan Alda

The book, with Alda's full life as its case study, presents new ways of looking at old problems; new approaches to long-standing lessons.

READ more

13 Dec 2005 // 12:00 AM

The Harold Lloyd Comedy Collection (2005)

Harold Lloyd doesn't have super strength, agility or speed, he just uses Yankee ingenuity, celebrated in the heady days after World War I.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

That Ribbon of Highway: Sharon Jones Re-shapes Woody Guthrie's Song

// Sound Affects

"Sharon Jones and Woodie Guthrie knew: great songs belong to everybody.

READ the article