Mac DeMarco: Another One

Mac DeMarco: Another One

By Dan Derks

Whether his heartbreak is the fault of geography or the turn of love’s fickle tides, Another One continues to flex DeMarco’s unique gifts for phrasing and double meanings. 5 Aug 2015 // 2:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

20 Sep 2004 // 4:00 PM

	Rah Bras: EPS

Rah Bras' new collection is a little too much like an inside joke -- the band and its fans are laughing hysterically while the rest of us scratch our heads.

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

When we have demonstrated the wherewithal to maintain an enviable standard of rock led by titans such as the late Tim Hemensley and Bon Scott,

READ more

Franz Ferdinand The Whigs The Killers For years I’ve been defending myself against accusations that I only like things because they’re obscure or

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Though underused, Chicago’s Park West theater is one of my favorite concert venues in the city. The space is a vast but intimate ballroom.

READ more

Franz Ferdinand The Delays What a strange experience. Taking in bands at Roseland Ballroom has often made me yearn for the room to grow smaller

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

The song was unrecognizable at first. The five-piece string section began by playing high, staccato notes, sounding like a Bernard Hermann tribute band. The crowd

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Sahara Hotnights Army of MePhoto credit: Kolin Smith Band name changes aren’t always tragedies. Not every PR move goes from bad to worse. Stars

READ more

LAX

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

LAX

In LAX's first scene, the airport director (Michael Murphy) kills himself.

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

Hawaii

Bank robbers gloated that by the time HMPD arrived, they'd be '...halfway to Maui,' as if there are no cops on the Valley Isle.

READ more

20 Sep 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Benefactor

There's no bigger Mark Cuban fan than Mark Cuban himself.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Truth and Other Restrictions: 'True Detective' - Episode 7 - "Black Maps and Motel Rooms"

// Channel Surfing

"Series creator Nic Pizzolatto constructs the entire season on a simple exchange: death seems to be the metaphysical wage of knowledge.

READ the article