Titus Andronicus: A Most Lamentable Tragedy

Titus Andronicus: A Most Lamentable Tragedy

By John Paul

Titus Andronicus deliver a massive, sprawling opus dealing with lead vocalist Patrick Stickles’ mental health issues that is often as frustrating, and satisfying, as the disorder itself. 30 Jul 2015 // 2:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews
Indigo Girls: All That We Let In

All That We Let In isn’t an earth-shaking album—it doesn’t even shake up the Indigo Girls catalog. But it’s certainly a comfortable continuation of the band’s work, and shouldn’t lose any of its appeal over time.

READ more

25 Mar 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Hiroshima: The Bridge

Back in the mid-‘80s, local island television offered strange advertising crossovers: A Hawaiian songstress spun a bingo tank so folks could fill in the

READ more

25 Mar 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Happy Mondays: Pills ‘n’ Thrills and Bellyaches

Standing in the pre-soundcheck emptiness of New York City’s Mercury Lounge, without even my first drink in hand, setting up an amplifier and trying

READ more

25 Mar 2004 // 11:00 PM

Cloud Cult: Aurora Borealis

Like Wilco’s Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Aurora Borealis is the rare album that has the musical merit to match its great making-of story.

READ more

25 Mar 2004 // 11:00 PM

	cLOUDDEAD: Ten

You ever hear the one about how the world is just a battleground, a chessboard in a larger conflict between powers far beyond our comprehension,

READ more
	Bobby Conn and the Glass Gypsies: The Homeland

Chicagoan Bobby Conn likes to work in concepts, often several of them at once, which means you’ll find his spiel either audacious and hilarious

READ more
	Baby Bash: Tha Smokin’ Nephew: Screwed and Chopped

I’m sure we’ve covered the whole screwing/chopping phenomenon before, but let’s go through it again quickly: the late DJ Screw became

READ more

25 Mar 2004 // 11:00 PM

	David Bowie: Outside [remastered]

1977 found one David Bowie and one Brian Eno holed up in Berlin, laying the sonic foundations for the brilliant trio of albums known by their

READ more

24 Mar 2004 // 1:00 AM

A self-styled rock writer I dare lose my street cred by admitting the following: I went to see the Wrens knowing little more than the

READ more

24 Mar 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Walkmen French Kicks Hamilton Leihauser, lead singer of the Walkmen, announced after their first song, “We’re the Walkmen from Washington D.C.” Certainly

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Anderson East Ignites a Fire at Mercury Lounge

// Notes from the Road

"Hot off the release of his album Delilah Anderson East's performance was full of vim and vigor.

READ the article