Call for Music Writers... Rock, Indie, Urban, Electronic, Americana, Metal, World and More

Reviews

Monday, May 28 2001

    Judas Priest: Screaming for Vengeance

It was with great nostalgia and a shadow of youthful exuberance that I loaded Screaming for Vengeance into the tray of my old and faithful


Goo Goo Dolls: What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art and Commerce

A long time ago, in a nightclub far far away, I met a man who introduced himself to me as John. He and his band


Mary Chapin Carpenter: Time* Sex* Love*

Mary Chapin Carpenter remains one of the most authoritative and genuine female singer songwriters around, precisely because she fits the current Nashville vogue for manufactured


The Anubian Lights: Naz Bar

Ah, The Anubian Lights. What are they and where have they come from? And why Hawkwind exactly? I don’t know. I refuse to answer.


Air: 10,000 Hz Legend

In its discussion of Air, the Rough Guide to Rock quotes a (possibly apocryphal) 1992 headline from the French national newspaper Le Figaro lamenting “Thirty Years


Sunday, May 27 2001

    Tik N’ Tak: Friends

Let me just be the first to say that I am officially floored by Tik N’ Tak. I haven’t been able to take this


Saturday, May 26 2001

Greyboy: Mastered the Art

All is well, Greyboy is back and dropping bombs. How does this sound—phat basslines, deep jazzy vibraphone, MCs in full flight and snippets of


Duke Ellington and his Orchestra: Togo Brava Suite

This review is dedicated to the memory of Norris Turney. Not a name that causes much of a ripple even in the jazz world, but


Paul Bley / Evan Parker / Barre Phillips: Sankt Gerold

I am always a little over-awed by ECM recordings. They sound as if they should be listened to in a large, loft apartment (with minimalist


Wednesday, May 23 2001

Frank Black and the Catholics

24 May 2001: Troubadour - Los Angeles.


The Bevis Frond

24 May 2001: The Mercury Lounge - New York.


Tuesday, May 22 2001

Cousteau

23 May 2001: Village Underground - New York.


Portastatic: Looking for Leonard

Although his main band is waning in popularity as the remaining indie guitar rock fans get too old to go to club shows, Mac McCaughan continues to develop as a musician and a songwriter.


Monday, May 21 2001

    Whiskeytown: Pneumonia

That’s how a friend described Pneumonia to me. He said it as both a songwriter and as a listener, and my heart fairly leapt


    Eberhard Weber: Endless Days

You have to wait a full two minutes, 12 seconds into the first track for that marvelous distinctive lush bass sound, but in theory, when you’


    Wellwater Conspiracy: The Scroll and Its Combinations

One of the oddest and most unexpected pleasures of Pearl Jam’s latest LP Binaural was “Evacuation”, penned by new drummer Matt Cameron. A driving


    Erik Truffaz: Revisite

This is a remix album and a good one—but a word of warning. If you think that the prime function of a re-mix is


    Stella Soleil: Dirty Little Secrets

Wat a strange, interesting little album. In as many respects that it conforms to the conventional expectations of contemporary pop music, that is, pop music


    Professional Murder Music: self-titled

Professional Murder Music is yet another band that will be competing for the top slots of metal playlists over the next year. With some support


    Barbara Manning and the Go-Luckys!: You Should Know by Now

Barbara Manning made her name in the early ‘90s as one of the Bay Area’s finest musicians, garnering praise from fellow musicians and critics


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.