MSTRKRFT: Operator

MSTRKRFT: Operator

By Brian Duricy

With the continually progressive and impressive places electronic music and its satellite genres are going, Operator is a regression to the uninspiring basics. 28 Jul 2016 // 2:30 AM

Read more
//Recent Reviews

24 Apr 2006 // 4:00 PM

Shopgirl (2005)

Director Anand Tucker insists his film is not about the glitzy L.A. It is, instead, about an L.A. populated with 'ordinary people just like you and me, getting on with their lives.'"

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 4:00 PM

The Net (2004)

I only feel comfortable reiterating Kaczynski's arguments by framing him as the result of an experiment gone wrong in the state-sanctioned exercise of force.

READ more
Image Before My Eyes: A History of Jewish Life in Poland Before the Holocaust (2004) - PopMatters Fi

The film distills its photos, films, recordings, and narratives into a profoundly potent and heartrending vision of lost European Jewry.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 4:00 PM

Casanova (2005)

This would be the cleaned-up, wearisome, supposedly romantic version of the notorious Casanova.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 4:00 PM

Aeon Flux (2005)

The writers' commentary track is smart, instructive, and funny. The film is less so.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 1:00 AM

'The Bat-man of Gotham' is real and very human, but also very mysterious and in one sequence of this story, even mystical.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 1:00 AM

Tinariwen

thumb the low bass strings and simultaneously pick and twang the higher notes, masterfully demonstrating the link between the Mississippi Delta and the Saharan sands.

READ more
Ron Sexsmith + Kathleen Edwards

Ron Sexsmith used to dream about one day headlining Massey Hall, so much so that for years he declined offers to open for other artists at the venue. Now his day has finally come...

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 1:00 AM

What About Brian

At one point, a frustrated Marjorie screamed at Brian, 'Don't Brian me!' I have no idea what that means.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 1:00 AM

Shalom in the Home

Rabbi Shmuley Boteach's self-help reality series means to dissect the dilemmas facing the new nuclear family, looking for ways to stave off misunderstandings and other meltdowns.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

It's Not Easy Being Yellow

// Moving Pixels

"In which we consider the challenges of and the reasons for making the “wrong” color choice in Pokemon Go.

READ the article