Call for Book Reviewers and Bloggers

Reviews

Monday, April 16 2001

Miles Davis / John Coltrane: The Best of Miles Davis and John Coltrane (1955-1961)

Reviewing a Miles Davis/John Coltrane “greatest hits” CD is a lot like adding up all of Stephen King’s book sales. In a lot


Miles Davis: Milestones

Last year, Sony Music, which had gobbled up Columbia Records and its huge jazz catalog over a decade earlier, finally got around to releasing what


Elvis Costello: The Very Best of Elvis Costello

From the recent movie and novel High Fidelity to this year’s award winning book of poetry entitled Radio Radio, Elvis Costello has been vaulted


Creeper Lagoon: Take Back the Universe and Give Me Yesterday

“All I really care about are the real, deep problems people have. That’s the root of entertainment,” boasts Ian Sefchick, Creeper Lagoon’s dramatic


The Cinematics: Stations

“Trifles make perfection, and perfection is no trifle.”#151; Michelangelo Candace Coalman, lead singer of the Cinematics, has a pop bauble of a voice which put


Sunshine Anderson: Your Woman

Just the mention of some songs evoke memories of backyard barbecues, back-in-the-day roller skating parties, strolling summer nights with brown-skinned, mocha, pecan-tan, honey-dipped lovelies (a


Sunday, April 15 2001

Paula Frazer: Indoor Universe

One of alternative (for better lack of a word) music’s biggest mysteries of the nineties, in my opinion, is golden-throated Bay Area singer/songwriter


Monday, April 9 2001

    Various Artists: Mexico

With Mexico, the folks over at Putumayo are banking on the fact its listeners have never visited the dirty hole of a tourist trap that


    Various Artists: Red, Hot and Indigo: A Tribute to Duke Ellington

It has been 10 years since the Red Hot organization brought together an eclectic group of artists and musicians to record Red, Hot and Blue, a


    Red House Painters: Old Ramon

The year 1998 was not very good for Mark Kozolek and his band The Red House Painters. Following critical acclaim for albums like Down Colorful Hill


    The O’Jays: The Ultimate O’Jays

It is hard not to listen to this, and other products of the golden age of Philadelphia International Records, without succumbing to nostalgia. I am


    Monster Movie: self-titled

Prepare to be washed away. The music contained on this EP will certainly change your minds about that whole Britpop franchise. Monster Movie has brought


    Lemon Jelly: lemonjelly.ky

Every so often there is a true musical “moment” when an act breaks through that is so complete, so utterly surprising, that as a music


Earth, Wind & Fire: Open Our Eyes / Spirit

Earth, Wind & FireSpirit(Columbia/Legacy)US release date: 10 April 2001 Maurice WhiteMaurice White(Columbia/Legacy)US release date: 10 April 2001 by Simon Warner earthwindandfire-reissues.jpg :. e-mail


Ani Difranco: Reveling/Reckoning

When I was a punk rock kid, I lived in constant fear of my favorite punk bands “selling out”. It seems fans of Ani Difranco


DJ Smash: Phonography

Phonography, compiled and mixed by DJ Smash, is a laid-back party mix for lazy afternoons and the quiet calm of late nights and early mornings.


Couch: Profane

There is significantly more to German instrumental band Couch than its unfortunately staid moniker might at first suggest. This is the group’s fourth full-length


Dave Brubeck: At Carnegie Hall / Jazz Impressions of Japan

Pianist Dave Brubeck and his Quartet—with Paul Desmond on sax, Eugene Wright (later Bob Bates) on bass and Joe Morello (later Joe Dodge) on


Sunday, April 8 2001

J Mascis and The Fog

9 April 2001: Black Cat - Washington DC.


Wednesday, April 4 2001

    Pookey Bleum: Lo-Fi Rainbow

I don’t know if you guys out there remember Pianosaurus. If you don’t, they were this novelty group who played all their songs


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks
Win a 15-CD Pack of Brazilian Music CDs from Six Degrees Records! in PopMatters Contests on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.