Call for Book Reviewers and Bloggers

Reviews

Sunday, April 1 2001

    Mark Mulcahy: SmileSunset

Writing about music is a fool’s game—it’s hard to admit, but the aspects of music that cause it to affect us so


Saturday, March 31 2001

Michael Carpenter: SOOP (Songs of Other People): Volume 1

This type of CD is usually something that I am completely uninterested in; however, in Carpenter’s case, the work is more than interesting. It


Thursday, March 29 2001

    Manitoba: Start Breaking My Heart

If the mere mention of the phrase “experimental electronica” makes you uncontrollably paranoid of rekindling unwanted relationships with fragmented flashbacks, you are not alone. Shades


Tuesday, March 27 2001

    Opium Jukebox: Music To Download Pornography To

 Robin Williamson The Seed at Zero(ECM)US release date: April 2001 by Michael Stephens opiumjukebox-music.jpg :. e-mail this article:. print this article:.


Monday, March 26 2001

    The Transitions: Back in Da Days

When Biggie (the late Notorious B.I.G.) waxed poetic about “back in the day” in the song “Things Done Change”, there was reason to


    The Living End: Roll On

Critics love to call an album they’re reviewing “good driving music”. Stuff that sounds best in a convertible with the top down, the wind


India.Arie: Acoustic Soul

In every way, this 25-year-old from Atlanta out of Denver looks and sounds the part of the new soul songstress—conscious and serious, clever and,


The Fletcher Pratt: Nine By Nine

What do the recordings 12 by 5 by The Rolling Stones, London Calling by The Clash, We Are Painter Men by The Creation, Kinda Kinks by The


Shawn Colvin: Whole New You

Shawn Colvin may have settled down in Austin, but she has no illusions about romantic idealism.


Jeff Beck: Blow by Blow / Wired

 Jeff Beck Wired(Epic)US release date: 27 March 2001 (original release, 1976) by Simon Warner beckjeff-wired.jpg :. e-mail this article:. print this article:.


Tuesday, March 20 2001

Neil Michael Hagerty

It was a real joy to see Mr. Hagerty play his guitar.


Monday, March 19 2001

Steve Earle / Stacey Earle

20 March 2001: Dave's on Dickson - Fayetteville, Arkansas.


    Various Artists: The Amos House Collection, Vol. 1

I don’t own many compilations that I’d call “essential”. They’re usually not that kind of animal; I mean, how often do you


    Various Artists: Colonel Jeffrey Pumpernickel

Ah, the concept album. The drool and cringe factors on this topic run to pretty severe extremes. Many love it—bring on the operatic drama!


    Various Artists: Beats and Pieces Volume Two

Most BBE compilations are themed, either presenting the favourites of leading DJs or exploring the lesser known tributaries of the various genres mentioned above. With


    Luther Thomas Human Arts Ensemble: Funky Donkey Vol. 1 & 2

At the risk of over-simplification, I think it is possible to detect two distinct trajectories within the Free Jazz movement from its beginnings at the


    Toadies: Hell Below/Stars Above

Back in 1994, when grunge was enjoying its hey day, Toadies released their debut album Rubberneck, quickly selling over a million copies based on the strength


    Silent Poets: To Come

Good to see Japan’s Silent Poets getting an American release through Atlantic picking up on their output for the innovative Parisian label, Yellow. What


    Seafood: Surviving the Quiet

I’ll let you in on a little bit about me. I’m bored with everything in my stereo at the moment. My music purchasing


    Sunshine: Velvet Suicide

Heavy on the post-punk elements yet lacking the “aura” of true greatness, the Eastern European trio Sunshine has recorded a thoroughly good bunch of songs


Now on PopMatters
Announcements
PM Picks
Win a 15-CD Pack of Brazilian Music CDs from Six Degrees Records! in PopMatters Contests on LockerDome

© 1999-2014 PopMatters.com. All rights reserved.
PopMatters.com™ and PopMatters™ are trademarks
of PopMatters Media, Inc.

PopMatters is wholly independently owned and operated.