Reviews

15 Mar 2007 // 9:58 PM

The Prestige (2006)

Fans of this wonderful film are left to puzzle not just over its thematic and narrative layers, but its respectable but perfunctory treatment here.

READ more
Oasis: Morning Glory - A Classic Album Under Review [DVD]

At best this is an informative audio commentary in search of a proper medium.

READ more

15 Mar 2007 // 3:00 AM

Raines

For all its good ideas, Raines is overwhelmed by Jeff Goldblum's characterization -- both familiar and strange.

READ more

15 Mar 2007 // 3:00 AM

Addiction

Providing a range of information through verité documentary as well as the more familiar means of talking heads and website links, Addiction is both an outstanding resource and film series.

READ more
Survival of the Sickest by Dr. Sharon Moalem with Jonathan Prince

Outside of the fantasies of House, identifying yourself as a "medical maverick" is usually a signal of quackery.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 11:00 PM

Strange Piece of Paradise by Terri Jentz

Two books -- both finalists for the National Book Critics Award -- remind me that our actions are often beyond our control. We may no longer be hostage to the whims of capricious gods or brutal totalitarian states, but what about the power of our own inscrutable minds?

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:04 PM

Bang Gang: Find What You Get EP

Iceland's Bang Gang, judging by the music on the Find What You Get EP, should record a live album, and right away.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:03 PM

The Crayon Fields: Animal Bells

The Crayon Fields makes pop that hangs around like a dense mist, opaque but ultimately diffuse.

READ more
The Jennifers: Colors from the Future

Mining the same hooky, melodic pop vein as Velvet Crush and Evelyn Forever, the album is a fun listen, though to my ear it lacks energy.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:01 PM

Honey Power: Macrosilly

Honey Power come from that hotbed of rock and roll... Estonia. Estonia should be proud of this group.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:00 PM

Jesu: Conqueror

Jesu's fourth release is a masterful, highly accessible outing by one of extreme music's greatest innovators.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:00 PM

In Memoriam: Mitch Hedberg

Mitch Hedberg was a leather-jacket, tinted-sunglasses-wearing proto-beatnik, one that burned out far to fast.

READ more
Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe, and Ben Katchor: The Carbon Copy Building

While the opportunity for the spectacular might be there, the results don't quite get there.

READ more
Brad Shepik Trio: Places You Go

Guitar, organ, and drums in a contemporary program that is fresh and familiar at the same time.

READ more
Arbouretum: Rites of Uncovering

Mesmerizing jams from Anomoanon drummer Dave Heumann wed righteous, slow-paced Americana with free-wheeling 1960s psych. Five bucks says he's got a beard.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:00 PM

Jon Rauhouse: Steel Guitar Heart Attack

The renowned steel guitarist is as skillful as ever, but his latest record is not as cohesive as it might have been.

READ more

14 Mar 2007 // 10:00 PM

Baby Eagle: Baby Eagle

Steve Lambke's debut album under his new alias finds him trading aggressive rock music for sensitive folk songs.

READ more
Bob Dylan: World Tour 1966: The Home Movies [DVD]

We learn perhaps too much about Jones's background, musical influences, and career. Obviously, we want more Dylan.

READ more
Various Artists: Screaming Masterpice [DVD]

Given this is a CliffNotes take on musical heritage, it’s still hard to criticize a documentary where the filmmakers sit back and simply let the music speak for itself.

READ more
The Phoenix Foundation: Horsepower

A new band is set to hit American record stores with the mellow sounds of... New Zealand?

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

Players Lose Control in ‘Tales from the Borderlands’

// Moving Pixels

"This is an interactive story in which players don’t craft the characters, we just control them.

READ the article