Reviews
Working for a Nuclear Free City: Working for a Nuclear Free City

Working for a Nuclear Free City debuts with an album of impressive scope, albeit not entirely flawless execution.

READ more
Who Killed the Electric Car? (2006)

In Chris Paine’s witty and very partisan documentary, we are presented with the sad but familiar tale of corporate greed and corruption shaping our daily lives -- shaping it without our support, but with our apathy.

READ more
The Society of Invisibles: The Society of Invisibles

The Society of Invisibles obviously wants to be shocking, but the biggest surprise on the group’s eponymous debut is its resemblance other rap projects.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Denison Witmer: Safe Away

While listening to a Denison Witmer album start-to-finish might be a bit taxing simply because he’s so low-key, his presence remains undeniable.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Ouija Interview #1-4

The gimmicky premise, the humble packaging, the minimalist illustrations and the overall cuteness serve to let the reader's defenses down so that its moments of power are all the more surprising and upsetting.

READ more
Adventures of Robin Hood Vol. 15

This version of Robin Hood will remain mostly an historical interest for its role during a dark era of fear driven politics; the Red Scare.

READ more
Cream: Cream: Classic Artists [DVD]

Dreary and unedifying career overview of '60s blues trio marred by its lack of live footage.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Loverboy: Get Lucky

This 25th anniversary reissue gives us another chance to revisit a gaudy '80s rock gem. As a man once said, everybody needs a second chance.

READ more
Ben Rileys Monk Legacy Septet: Memories of T

Early Gil Evans-style little big band with a great drummer plays Thelonious Monk compositions.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 8:59 PM

Armed & Famous

The show is more like Celebrity Fit Club than Flavor of Love, asking its stars to tone down rather than act out. It's disturbing but it’s not ugly.

READ more

9 Jan 2007 // 12:00 AM

Dirt

Apparently, this is how you do dirt in Hollywood. Surfaces seem bright and pretty until they're subjected to the grainy, garish tabloid long-lens shot.

READ more
Grease: Youre the One that I Want

A theatre director told me once that you can judge the quality of a show by how long it takes before you look at your watch. I was watching the clock 12 minutes into the 90-minute premiere.

READ more
Dirty Faces: Get Right With God

The second installment in a scruff, poetic panorama of turn-of-the-century America, Get Right with God turns from Superamerican‘s hard-rock dissection of patriotism towards an

READ more
Thumbtack Smoothie: Fall Back

Fall Back is a unique take on electronic beatmaking, and therefore heartily recommended to the adventurous.

READ more

8 Jan 2007 // 9:01 PM

Victory: Fuel to the Fire

Middling '80s metal band covers own songs, yielding middling results.

READ more

8 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Mary Mary + Take 6

Christmas can be a time for quiet reflection or loud partying. Of course, there's nothing wrong with doing both at once...

READ more
Carly Simon: Into White

Into White serves the legacy of Carly Simon very well... it is a gift for the soul that holds up well beyond waking up from that afternoon nap.

READ more
O.M.F.O.: We Are the Shepherds

O.M.F.O.’s merging of Eastern folk and Kraftwerkian dub on the Essay label is therefore only as surprising as, say, finding Osama bin Laden in his cave listening to Joe Meek.

READ more

8 Jan 2007 // 9:00 PM

Tringo

How is it that Tringo has become so popular? Why, its association with gambling, of course.

READ more
Lyrics Born: Overnight Encore

I would rather that Lyrics Born just knuckled down and gave us another studio album, for chrissake.

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

'Full Throttle: Remastered' Is Both Updated and Dated

// Moving Pixels

"Full Throttle: Remastered is a game made for people who don't mind pixel hunting -- like we used to play.

READ the article