Reviews
The Mars Volta: Amputechture

Go ahead. Give it the patience it deserves.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic

The fact that Broken Saints has gotten critical acclaim in its DVD release adds an air of mainstream legitimacy to the burgeoning world of Flash animation.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

Lancelot Link: Secret Chimp

Though definitely dated in its approach to the material, and losing a bit of its laughable luster along the way, Lancelot Link: Secret Chimp still stands as a wonderful reminder of the days when being an operative was the height of considered cool.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

Two Ton Boa: Parasiticide

I don’t think I’ve ever heard a band with two bass guitars sound less funky.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

The Fleshies: Scrape the Walls

Fleshies make great music -- until Jello Biafra makes an unwanted appearance.

READ more
David Kimbrough Jr.: Shell-Shocked

At question is whether a musician can extend things in this or that direction, and very possibly the performer of "Shell Shocked" can.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

Freeheat: Back on the Water

Let's be honest. A good portion of this record will tease your endorphin receptors the way all those great Mary Chain songs did.

READ more
Shawn Colvin: These Four Walls

A glut of singer-songwriters are vying for attention in 2006, but it would be a shame to forget an artist whose two-decade career has likely inspired a flock of imitators.

READ more

13 Sep 2006 // 12:00 AM

Hilltop Hoods: The Hard Road

You can't think of Australian hip-hop now without running into these guys, and they're a perfect touchstone for anyone remotely curious about what this term "Aussie hip-hop" even means.

READ more
Mojoe: Classic.Ghetto.Soul

This San Antonio, Texas, duo's got the right vibe. Now they need stronger lyrics and patient fans.

READ more
Messer für Frau Müller: Triangle, Dot & Devil

Russian neo-lounge act's camp and kitsch belies its complex sampling and arrangements.

READ more
The Husbands: Theres Nothing Id Like More Than To See You Dead

YOU try telling these primal r'n'r gals that women can't be Husbands.

READ more
Silent Civilian: Rebirth of the Temple

Spineshank is to Fear Factory as Silent Civilian is to...

READ more

12 Sep 2006 // 2:24 AM

nip/tuck

Through the various clients' histories and desires, nip/tuck inquires into current arrangements of social power.

READ more

12 Sep 2006 // 2:00 AM

Mint: Magnetism

Belgian group's second album is full of college radio-friendly charming pop.

READ more

12 Sep 2006 // 1:50 AM

Standoff

The first episode included a good deal of Where Is This Relationship Going, a little of Isn't My Floppy Fringe Just Fantastic, and a couple of hostage situations.

READ more
Casiotone for the Painfully Alone + Clue to Kalo

After living through the great '90s electronica boom, hearing the Casiotone is like coming home after a long time away.

READ more
Eric Matthews: Foundation Sounds

If you get off on the link between Aaron Copland and Eric Matthews, then more power to ya! But I'd rather build my house on good old solid rock (& roll), instead of Eric Matthews' Foundation Sounds.

READ more
Yo La Tengo: I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass

Reviewing this album is like trying to describe a cool and sunny Sunday afternoon -- no liberal expenditure of adjectives and verbs can recreate the experience of just sitting and taking it all in while relaxing.

READ more
Remember Me by Lisa Takeuchi Cullen

With caskets being sold at Costco and FuneralDepot.com, with cremation becoming all the rage, and with the Internet offering custom funerals, does anyone actually still get buried in the old-fashioned way?

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Measuring Success: The Unsatisfying Notion of "Good Endings" and "Bad Endings"

// Moving Pixels

"Sometimes stories need to end badly in order to be really good.

READ the article