Reviews

4 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

Tyrone Wells: Hold On

Skinny bald-headed Tyrone Wells has a great voice. Let's start there: dude can wail.

READ more
My Reality Check Bounced! by Jason Ryan Dorsey

Dorsey has never met a cliché he can't embrace.

READ more
Teitur: Stay Under the Stars

Stay Under the Stars is admittedly unremarkable, but it's unremarkable in such a unique, gratifying way that one cannot help but be drawn to it.

READ more

4 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

FemBots: The City

What started years ago as a home-studio pastime between two friends ultimately evolved into an engaging album of ten highly textured alt-country tracks that still feature the duo's usual quirkiness, but is subdued by all the greatest elements of rock, folk and country.

READ more

4 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

Rules of Engagement

Girls want intimacy, while all guys want are spectacular and exotic sex acts. Urgh.

READ more

4 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

Final Fantasy XII

Will real-time combat revolutionize Final Fantasy or ruin it?

READ more
Idan Raichel: The Idan Raichel Project

When The Idan Raichel Project first arrived in my mailbox last year I was trying to think of ten albums that I could put in a list to mark the end of 2006 and I liked this one so much that I almost included it.

READ more
War Made New: Technology, Warfare, and the Course of History: 1500 to Today by Max Boot

Someone who is keenly interested in the bigger implications of the strategies and tactics of the war on terror is Max Boot, one of today's most astute observers of RMA, Pentagon-speak for the Revolution in Military Affairs.

READ more

4 Feb 2007 // 9:00 PM

The Cat Empire: Two Shoes

Melbourne-based six piece tries to crack the U.S. market with an exuberant fusion of Latin, reggae, jazz, hip hop, and soul.

READ more
Various Artists: The Best Of Hootenanny [DVD]

Any DVD collection that can show you the roots of popular music forms like country music and the blues, played by some of the key musicians in the genres, is well worth the price of admission.

READ more
Fall Out Boy: Infinity on High

Warning: Do not take this album seriously, or suffer from your own extreme idiocy.

READ more
Moros Eros: I Saw the Devil Last Night and Now the Sun Shines Bright

Moros Eros went face to face with Prince of Darkness and now has a debut album that’s both grim and glorious.

READ more
Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter: Like, Love, Lust & The Open Halls of the Soul

The year seems too young for there to be so many incredible new records, but Jesse Sykes & the Sweet Hereafter have a sure masterpiece on their hands.

READ more
Birdman and Lil Wayne: Like Father, Like Son

Lil Wayne and his adoptive father, Birdman, produce an uneven collaborative effort with no shine in spite of its excessive bling.

READ more
Various Artists: Destroy All Rational Thought [DVD]

From its premise of no new innovators, no literary outlaws, and no risk takers left alive comes a DVD of no historical foundation, no informative narration, and no visual or audible quality.

READ more

2 Feb 2007 // 5:37 AM

The Situation (2006)

Even as The Situation makes a mucky melodrama out of the war in Iraq, this effect does not seem entirely inappropriate, as it accommodates a U.S. perspective of its own actions.

READ more

2 Feb 2007 // 3:44 AM

Because I Said So (2007)

Tacky and terminally bland, Because I Said So sets up one basic joke -- the interfering mother -- and runs it into the ground.

READ more

2 Feb 2007 // 1:30 AM

The Messengers (2007)

Another scary house movie, another family in crisis. And especially, another lithe but steely girl in danger.

READ more
Pillow Fight League, US Debut

Pillows pounding, legs tangle with arms and skirts slowly ride, inching forward as muscle strains against muscle. If that's not empowering, what is?

READ more

1 Feb 2007 // 9:03 PM

Lucky Dragons: Widows

Widows, Luke Fischbeck’s new album as Lucky Dragons, starts with stringed instruments that almost make it seem like some sort of Americana album, except

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media

//Blogs

"No Dollars in Duende": On Making Uncompromising, Spirited Music

// Sound Affects

"On the elusive yet clearly existential sadness that adds layers and textures to music.

READ the article