Reviews
Bruce Springsteen: We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions

A folk tribute to Pete Seeger that's about a thousand times as fun as that description might suggest, We Shall Overcome is also an album as American as apple pie, baseball and Bruce Springsteen.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 12:00 AM

Candi Staton: His Hands

Even if Staton had lived the life of Little Mary Sunshine, the ache in her vocals would make one believe that she has suffered. Just one "ooh", "aah", or "mmm" would turn anyone into a believer.

READ more
Michel Camilo: Rhapsody in Blue

Paying tribute to Gershwin and being backed by a large orchestra doesn’t detract from Michel Camilo’s spirited performances on the ivories.

READ more

24 Apr 2006 // 12:00 AM

Gecko Turner: Guapapasea!

He's so cool that he can groan, "How come you do me like you do me?" and sound as if he's saying something meaningful, even intriguing.

READ more
Various Artists: Bay Area Funk 2

Fifteen rare and underground funk and soul tracks recorded in the Bay Area during the '60s and '70s. If that description sounds good, the album sounds better.

READ more
Boyracer: A Punch Up the Bracket

Still think mohawks and boots are punk rock? Not compared to making music entirely on your own terms.

READ more
Monty Alexander: Concrete Jungle: The Music of Bob Marley

The Jamaican jazz pianist takes on Marley, again.

READ more
Santana: Santana III (Legacy Edition)

Vintage, high-energy, Latino psych-jazz-rock still sounds good 35 years on. Now, how do you suppose percussionist Thomas "Coke" Escovedo got his nickname?

READ more
	The Velvet Underground: Under Review [DVD]

Yes, it would have been nice if the Velvet Underground had made 10 million dollars, but it's even better that they made music that still influences people today.

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 3:00 AM

The Sentinel (2006)

I suppose if you're going to cast the deliriously overexposed Eva Longoria -- and give her a weapon, to boot -- you might as well make fun of the fact that you've done so.

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 3:00 AM

American Dreamz (2006)

Here's the rub: does it matter that consumers know all about the badness and the cynical ambition, but watch anyway?

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 3:00 AM

Silent Hill (2006)

Long on atmosphere, Silent Hill is way short on cunning or beguiling. It's also short on sense.

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 3:00 AM

Scary Movie 4 (2006)

The problem is that none of this is surprising. We've seen these jokes on late night television, heard them on the radio or even thought of them ourselves.

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Fourth Annual Buildering Competition

Official disapproval is the sap that gives roof climbing its sweetness...

READ more
E-40: My Ghetto Report Card

E-40 returns with his trademark flow and a Bay Area brand of crunk to let you know he's more than a class clown.

READ more
Living Colour: Everything Is Possible: The Very Best of Living Colour

With a track list so skewed in favor of the band's first two records, the savvy consumer might do better to pick up Vivid and Time's Up and call their Living Colour collection complete.

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 12:00 AM

Various Artists: Gospel Music

If you don't care about the peripheral stuff, and can just listen to the beautiful music on the disc, it's worth your time. But if you care about history...

READ more

21 Apr 2006 // 12:00 AM

Ne-Yo: In My Own Words

It will blow up if it flirts with pop. Poppa Jay-Z smiles as singer and songwriter Ne-Yo proves a worthy investment.

READ more
Stereophonics: Live From Dakota

The second greatest Welsh trio today (Manics being numero uno) show their wares and seasoned chops during this enjoyable, relentless double-disc collection of favorites.

READ more
Various Artists: The Rough Guide to Flamenco Nuevo

Some compilations summarize a genre. This one makes it look larger than you expected.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Getting Social with 'Dark Souls III'

// Moving Pixels

"If I invade and murder you, it’s for your own good. I swear.

READ the article