Reviews

31 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Greg Osby: Channel Three

Osby continues his winning streak with a fresh-sounding saxophone trio approach.

READ more
	North Mississippi Allstars: Electric Blue Watermelon

On their fourth studio album, the World Boogie vision of the North Mississippi Allstars starts to come into full bloom.

READ more
	Minotaur Shock: Maritime

Wide eyed beats meet up clarinets, violins, flutes and more on a satisfying disc of blissed out electronica.

READ more
	Lucero: Nobody’s Darlings

Rock 'n' roll poetry finds a new voice. Lucero outdo themselves again.

READ more
	Ferry Corsten: Passport: Kingdom of the Netherlands

My ears were open when I popped the disc into my CD player -- it just so happened that what came out of the speakers was frightfully dull.

READ more
	Harold Budd and Eraldo Bernocchi: Music for ‘Fragments from the Inside’

Budd and Bernocchi explore their minimalistic tendencies through a work that is too subtle, nuanced, and developed to even approach the label of 'minimal'.

READ more

31 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

A Dear John for dear Ted...

READ more

31 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

How to be Idle by Tom Hodgkinson

The author's prescription for a better life doesn't assume that we're going to go to yoga every day or maintain a distance from drugs and alcohol.

READ more

31 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Sahara (2005)

Then they get to the Dirk part, that is, their much-considered intentions for their hero, their plans to create the 'dynamic of Dirk'.

READ more
The Arthur Dong Collection: Stories from the War on Homosexuality (2005)

The documentary clearly shows that the 'war on homosexuality' is far from over.

READ more
	David S. Ware Quartets: Live in the World

Everything here was originally released on a studio disc, and a listen to those original versions followed by these live takes shows just how well-conceived Ware's music can be.

READ more
	Röyksopp: The Understanding

The Understanding definitely shows the growth of a young group and the innovation that Röyksopp have been experimenting with since their 2004 debut, but they haven't yet reached the height of their potential.

READ more
	Palaxy Tracks: Twelve Rooms

Via Chicago, these Austin boys make good but not great.

READ more

30 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	OK Go: Oh No

This may be one of the first albums that could be at home stored next to either Sloan and Jet as Spoon or the better material of Guided By Voices.

READ more

30 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Hard-Fi: Cash Machine EP

With Hard-Fi, they have taken a look at what has come before them Stones, Specials and Kasabian and decided that they want to change it to reflect their own idealism.

READ more

30 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	José González: Veneer

The O.C. discovers the next Nick Drake. His blood's Argentinean; his passport's Swedish; his music is mope-folk; your reaction is pleasant.

READ more

30 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

'Most punk bands break guitars, we break woodblocks.' And how!!

READ more

30 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Star Trek:  Enterprise - Season 2

Star Trek: Enterprise is currently poised to be remembered as the underdog of the Trek franchise.

READ more
Don’t Get Too Comfortable: The Indignities of Coach Class, the Torments of Low Thread Count, the Nev

He's a gay Jewish Canadian. Swoon! If only I could be one of those things, I would never get over my own fantastic exoticism.

READ more
The Constant Gardener (2005)

That might be the film's most potent insight, that the white guy cannot save the day.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Truth and Other Restrictions: 'True Detective' - Episode 7 - "Black Maps and Motel Rooms"

// Channel Surfing

"Series creator Nic Pizzolatto constructs the entire season on a simple exchange: death seems to be the metaphysical wage of knowledge.

READ the article