Reviews
Boston: Boston / Don’t Look Back

Three decades after exploding on the pop-rock scene with Boston and Don't Look Back, Tom Scholz brings us his band's first two albums in remastered form.

READ more
Quantic: An Announcement to Answer

Will Holland, a.k.a. Quantic, returns with a funky musical travelogue packed with the sounds of Africa and the Caribbean.

READ more
Various Artists: Alligator Records 35X35

In 1971, US astronauts drove a Moon Rover along the lunar surface, Phillips introduced a crazy little thing called the VCR, and -- oh yeah -- Alligator Records released a Hound Dog Taylor LP, thus entering the blues music business.

READ more

25 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Geka: Station

Eight fragile songs for sitting alone and staring out the window.

READ more

Joi

24 Jul 2006 // 4:00 PM

Joi

not to mention almost every OutKast record. So why has no one heard of her?

READ more
Massively Multiplayer Pong

I am not certain what the purpose of the game is. Indeed, I am not certain that this media product can be categorized as a game at all.

READ more
One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern (2005)

It's alarming, and not a little heartbreaking, that George McGovern's call for taking responsibility and acknowledging mistakes remains relevant to this day.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Kamikaze Diaries by Emiko Ohnuki-Tierney

No matter how much they read, how hard they attempted to justify their deaths, the boy pilots ultimately felt lost, afraid to die alone.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Brothers of the Head (2005)

Brothers of the Head explores the overlaps between fiction and reality as they constitute rock-stardom, and more expansively, sexuality, desire, and consumption.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Jurassic 5: Feedback

With their third full-length release, Feedback, Jurassic 5 won't disappoint fans, but they all but guarantee that they'll never produce the 'Future Sound' they've been promising for the last decade.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tom Petty: Highway Companion

"Ankle Deep" conjures up a pretty lively harmonic resemblance to Steve Goodman's "You Never Even Called Me By My Name", which, in the context of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' biting of "Dani Califonia", turns this sentence quickly into a fun game of Six Degrees of Tom Petty.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tomcraft: Hyper Sexy Conscious

There isn't a single track on the entire album that manages to rise above the level of tepid familiarity.

READ more
Various Artists: Easy to be Free

Although this 20-track tribute album doesn't contain any big stars, the selections include material from every phase of Nelson's career and reveal the depth of his talents.

READ more
Cloudland Canyon: Requiems Der Natur, 2002-2004

Ex-Panthers spazz rocker joins German experimentalist to make surreally beautiful meditations on music, noise and the natural world.

READ more
Archie Bronson Outfit: Derdang Derdang

Garage-rock of the sometimes swampy, sometimes sappy variety.

READ more
Janiva Magness: Do I Move You?

Janiva Magness brings an old-time Motown-meets-Delta sound to these bluesy beauties, making for one heck of a listen filled with oodles of soul.

READ more

23 Jul 2006 // 10:00 PM

Paatos: Silence of Another Kind

Moody Swedes explore their influences, find sparks of originality amid the sounds.

READ more
X-Men: Deadly Genesis #1-6

I really am not interested in characters I grew up with being sullied.

READ more

I really am not interested in characters I grew up with being sullied.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Shadowboxer (2005)

While their profession is both odious and familiar, Mikey and Rose's sexual relationship is less commonplace.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

In Defense of the Infinite Universe in 'No Man's Sky'

// Moving Pixels

"The common cries of disappointment that surround No Man’s Sky stem from the exciting idea of an infinite universe clashing with the harsh reality of an infinite universe.

READ the article