Reviews
One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern (2005)

It's alarming, and not a little heartbreaking, that George McGovern's call for taking responsibility and acknowledging mistakes remains relevant to this day.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Kamikaze Diaries by Emiko Ohnuki-Tierney

No matter how much they read, how hard they attempted to justify their deaths, the boy pilots ultimately felt lost, afraid to die alone.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Brothers of the Head (2005)

Brothers of the Head explores the overlaps between fiction and reality as they constitute rock-stardom, and more expansively, sexuality, desire, and consumption.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Jurassic 5: Feedback

With their third full-length release, Feedback, Jurassic 5 won't disappoint fans, but they all but guarantee that they'll never produce the 'Future Sound' they've been promising for the last decade.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tom Petty: Highway Companion

"Ankle Deep" conjures up a pretty lively harmonic resemblance to Steve Goodman's "You Never Even Called Me By My Name", which, in the context of the Red Hot Chili Peppers' biting of "Dani Califonia", turns this sentence quickly into a fun game of Six Degrees of Tom Petty.

READ more

24 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Tomcraft: Hyper Sexy Conscious

There isn't a single track on the entire album that manages to rise above the level of tepid familiarity.

READ more
Various Artists: Easy to be Free

Although this 20-track tribute album doesn't contain any big stars, the selections include material from every phase of Nelson's career and reveal the depth of his talents.

READ more
Cloudland Canyon: Requiems Der Natur, 2002-2004

Ex-Panthers spazz rocker joins German experimentalist to make surreally beautiful meditations on music, noise and the natural world.

READ more
Archie Bronson Outfit: Derdang Derdang

Garage-rock of the sometimes swampy, sometimes sappy variety.

READ more
Janiva Magness: Do I Move You?

Janiva Magness brings an old-time Motown-meets-Delta sound to these bluesy beauties, making for one heck of a listen filled with oodles of soul.

READ more

23 Jul 2006 // 10:00 PM

Paatos: Silence of Another Kind

Moody Swedes explore their influences, find sparks of originality amid the sounds.

READ more
X-Men: Deadly Genesis #1-6

I really am not interested in characters I grew up with being sullied.

READ more

I really am not interested in characters I grew up with being sullied.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Shadowboxer (2005)

While their profession is both odious and familiar, Mikey and Rose's sexual relationship is less commonplace.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

ATL (2006)

Chris Robinson says of Atlanta, "It's got a very negative history that it's trying to rewrite. It's a city in transition. I wanted Atlanta to definitely be a character that you can feel."

READ more
Boys Briefs 4: Six Short Films About Guys Who Hustle (2006)

Gigolo demonstrates how the queer hustler -- tragic, romantic, and heroic -- still has the power to shock and to demand social change.

READ more
My Super Ex-Girlfriend (2006)

Eddie Izzard brings a whole other dimension to My Super Ex-Girlfriend, being wily and subversive rather than flamboyant.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Lady in the Water (2006)

Story's whiter-than-white skin, bloody cuts, color-shifting hair, and need to keep wet make her a bizarre amalgamation of fantasies, alternately "male" and "childish."

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Clerks II (2006)

The point of Clerks, either number, is talk -- speedy, competitive, clever banter that recalls, in its profane way, the rhythms of old Ben Hecht comedies.

READ more

21 Jul 2006 // 12:00 AM

Phish: Live in Brooklyn

A philosophical question: can one reach enlightenment through virtuosity and spectacle?

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Measuring Success: The Unsatisfying Notion of "Good Endings" and "Bad Endings"

// Moving Pixels

"Sometimes stories need to end badly in order to be really good.

READ the article