Reviews

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Valiant (2005)

Though Valiant is cheerful enough, its actors, animators, and audience have all been let down by its lack of ambition.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Undiscovered (2005)

A non-meeting on a subway platform serves as the first scene in the exceptionally uninteresting Undiscovered.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Sorum (2001)

Sorum might be best described as a ghost story, but without ghosts.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Mysterious Skin (2005)

Rendered in vivid colors, Neil's past appears more lucid than the present, but his memories are also selective and likely unreliable.

READ more
The 40-Year-Old Virgin (2005)

Here, a one-note title evolves into a 3-D landscape of guffaws and awws.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Cave (2005)

Space is a primary concern in a movie called The Cave.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Brothers Grimm (2005)

Will worries out loud, 'Nothing makes sense here, it's like being inside Jake's head.'"

READ more
	Various Artists: Putumayo Presents Mali

Almost every track feels like a signpost pointing me in a direction I'd like to travel, but then the song ends and I must keep moving. It is a bewildering experience.

READ more
	Poi Dog Pondering: The Best of Poi Dog Pondering (The Austin Years)

Excellent early career retrospective from this eclectic collective, neither hectic or corrective, just respectful and resplendent.

READ more
	The Magic Numbers: The Magic Numbers

The British band of the summer drop one of the debuts of the year; an unabashedly sentimental breath of fresh air as uplifting as it is unadorned. Prepare to succumb.

READ more

25 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Hockey Night: Keep Guessing

We all might miss Pavement, but if we learned anything from Mary Shelley it's that we shouldn't try to resurrect our loved ones.

READ more
	Philip Catherine, Bert Joris, Brussels Jazz Orchestra: Meeting Colours

Beautifully played, fairly conventional, but nice, Catherine moves beyond his quartet to playing with one of the currently best big bands in the business.

READ more
	Andy Caldwell: Late Night With Andy Caldwell

This is one of the most pure examples of unpretentious, irrepressible deep house I've come across in some time.

READ more
	Rodney Crowell: The Outsider

You need to get back to caring a bit more about hooks and memorable riffs if you want to expand your audience beyond the people who already know and love you.

READ more
	The Black Dahlia Murder: Miasma

The young Detroit band have always had the chops, but can they keep things interesting for an entire album?"

READ more

25 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Coaxing squalls of angry feedback from her trusty axe and leaping around the stage like a rag doll, it's difficult to accept the fact the woman is approaching 60.

READ more

25 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Weeds

Weeds is clear about its stance on getting stoned.

READ more
HomoCore: The Loud and Raucous Rise of Queer Rock by David Ciminelli and Ken Knox

This book is an excellent primer for those interested in learning the basics about HomoCore.

READ more
The Errol Morris DVD Collection (2005) - PopMatters Film Review
)

Errol Morris' documentaries are strange, perfect journeys.

READ more

24 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Superchumbo: Wowie Zowie

Wowie Zowie serves as something of a riposte to the aggressively desexualized facade of so much modern house.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Country Fried Rock: Drivin' N' Cryin' to Be Inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame

// Sound Affects

""If Drivin' N' Cryin' sounded as good in the '80s as we do now, we could have been as big as Cinderella." -- Kevn Kinney

READ the article