Reviews
Thunderbirds Are Now!: Make History

On their third album Thunderbirds Are Now! turn to pop for inspiration. It works well in combination with the group's dance-punk sound.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 4:00 PM

3 Oct 2006 // 4:00 PM

Foo Fighters

Dave Grohl goes acoustic, leading his band of rock warriors into uncharted, lite-rock waters.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 4:00 PM

Lost

Sometimes -- when I'm buying the Lost-companion novel Bad Twin or navigating the perplexing websites of the Dharma Project's sponsor The Hanso Corporation -- I think if Lost were my boyfriend, we'd have to break up.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 4:00 PM

Lost / The Amazing Race

Of course, we know that Lost's producers are an international '911' call away, should anything go terribly wrong, but for the most part, the contestants are left to their own devices.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 4:00 AM

Veronica Mars

"It's time for a fresh start," she muses while making her way across the Hearst College campus. "How 'bout you try not to piss anyone off this time around?"

READ more

Lights went out in Georgia, Chicago died, and that toke went over the line: the '70s revisited.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 1:00 AM

The Unit

This is always the question in The Unit and the Unit: who knows? Even those who do know can't admit it.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 1:00 AM

Help Me Help You

The characters are undeveloped, the situations are improbable, and Ted Danson is neither funny nor convincing.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Fergie: The Dutchess

Fergie prances, preens, moans, talks and raps, but the result is canned and sterile.

READ more
Scissor Sisters: Ta-Dah

Ta-Dah unveils the Scissor Sisters jumping in fits and spurts to maintain the high quality of their latest single.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Stella: Season One

Stella -- not a sketch comedy, not a sitcom, and certainly not the Marx Brothers -- forges a brand of television comedy all its own.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Hero Squared #1-2

It's not about being a hero; it's about questioning why heroes are heroes and why "normal" people are not.

READ more
The Illustrated Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, illustrations by Dame Darcy

Darcy could not have better portrayed this moment of recognition, the moment when Jane fully grasps, for the first time, the concept of sin and all it entails.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Edmond (2005)

An excellent noir, or a tragicomedy, about the repressed beliefs in all of us.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Kenny Smith: One More Day

No lost classics, but exceptional unpredictability and high interest factor.

READ more
Shinjuku Zulu: Various Chimeras

Yes, that's a Tokyo neighborhood and an African tribe.

READ more

3 Oct 2006 // 12:00 AM

Subtle: For Hero: For Fool

By turns exhilarating and exasperating, Subtle's music is creative, eclectic, and occasionally brilliant.

READ more
J.R. Writer: History in the Making

The second generation of Dipset goes official.

READ more
Hot Club of Detroit: Hot Club of Detroit

Evan Perri and others, including the dangerously brilliant Dave Bennett, extend the range of transDjangoReinhardt music.

READ more
More Recent Reviews

//Mixed media
//Blogs

Players Lose Control in ‘Tales from the Borderlands’

// Moving Pixels

"This is an interactive story in which players don’t craft the characters, we just control them.

READ the article