Reviews
Final Fantasy Tactics Advance

The characters are the most unintentionally shallow and unlikable bunch I have ever seen assembled.

READ more

2 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Diner Dash

It is in the everyday operations of the restaurant that the game actually starts to take shape as a game, and not just an expression of white-collar escapist fantasies.

READ more
	Various Artists: Sub City Presents: Take Action! Volume 4

By throwing in everything and the kitchen sink, this compilation of punk, metal, hardcore, and indie rock provides something for everyone but all things to none.

READ more
	Super Furry Animals: Songbook: The Singles, Vol. 1

Wales' favorite sons celebrate a decade of making Pure Pop for Now People with this collection of genre-defying singles.

READ more
	Louis XIV: Illegal Tender

In which the San Diego band attempts to put the decadence back into American rock music.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 11:00 PM

	H.I.M.: Love Metal

His Infernal Majesty spreads gothic wings over the U.S. masses.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Hot Water Music: The New What Next

Given the fact that fans of post-hardcore outfits like Hot Water Music tend to be as dedicated to consistency as the bands they love, The New What Next is sure to please them despite its shortcomings.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Clem Snide: End of Love

The songs swing wildly between upbeat, Counting Crows-style rockers, and cool, country-tinged tracks that are subtly ironic, humorous, and compelling.

READ more
	Horace Andy: From the Roots

Mad Professor concocts a formula to return Horace Andy to his reggae roots.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Underserved jam fans, LA's not-so-little secret, and hippies that spurn the 'hip'.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Local guitar teachers fail in pursuit of formula while others realize 'the rock'.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

WARNING!! WARNING!! WARNING!! WARNING!! WARNING!! WARNING!!

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Ah, Windsor! Bordertown. Home of a casino and dense with strip clubs. Flooded every weekend by thousands of thirsty, horny Americans, spilling over the bridge and through the tunnel. My associates and I were playing a different game. We were going to Alvin's, in Detroit, to find our pleasure.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Ah, Windsor! Bordertown. Home of a casino and dense with strip clubs. Flooded every weekend by thousands of thirsty, horny Americans, spilling over the bridge and through the tunnel. My associates and I were playing a different game. We were going to Alvin's, in Detroit, to find our pleasure.

READ more

1 Mar 2005 // 1:00 AM

Too Beautiful for You: Tales of Improper Behavior by Rod Liddle

Liddle freights the sex in these stories with symbolic weight, but that means it can never be merely 'improper behavior' -- sex must be an expression of character, a vehicle for various obsessions and shortcomings, a cause for romantic tumult.

READ more
James Whale: A New World of Gods and Monsters by James Curtis

Curtis' refusal to see any gay content or sensibility in Whale's films, beyond the director's penchant for large floral arrangements on his sets, is baffling.

READ more
How Brands Become Icons: The Principles of Cultural Branding by Douglas B. Holt

More than merely reflecting people and the times in which they live, iconic brands offer myths that help resolve the contradictions of society.

READ more
Doubt: A History by Jennifer Michael Hecht

We are reminded that for most of history, doubt has been a moderating factor, allowing for a more cosmopolitan atmosphere.

READ more

28 Feb 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Frank Lee Sprague: Merseybeat

In an extremely impressive feat of inspiration and musicianship, Frank Lee Sprague produces a set of songs that are both original and true to the spirit of an era.

READ more
	Lily Holbrook: Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt

It turns out that all any busker wants to do is to make techno-influenced pop music.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article