Reviews
	Tarbox Ramblers: A Fix Back East

Perhaps Tarbox is not a moniker synonymous with being a rock musician—one that plays gritty blues, both covers and originals. And perhaps Boston is

READ more
	The RH Factor (Roy Hargrove): Strength EP

This 45 minutes is a mixed bag, and Roy Hargrove’s bag here is a mixed one. There can be no doubting his musical command of

READ more
	The Prodigy: Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned

I’ve got a word to the wise for any Guns N’ Roses fans who might be reading this review: I wouldn’t hold your

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Lesbians on Ecstasy: self-titled

They give the listener some idea of what the narrator's life might be like rather than shoving bromides about tolerance down the throat.

READ more
	Harper Lee: All Things Can Be Mended

Harper Lee was a novelist who wrote the classic To Kill a Mockingbird. Harper Lee is also a band that toes the line between being

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Chomsky: Let’s Get to Second

The road to success in the music business is unknowable. A lucky few manage it, whilst countless others compile tales of trying to reach that

READ more
	Anastácia Azevedo: Amanaiara

A.A. comes from a very arid part of Brazil: Ceará, in the northeast. The word “amanaiara” is an ancient word, dating from before the

READ more
Star Trek: The Original Series - Season Three

Star Trek remains enjoyable today in ways that other, similarly important or influential shows do not.

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Complete Seventh Season

Joss Whedon says, 'We sort of worship at the same altar. Me and my staff are the biggest Buffy nerds alive.'

READ more
Top Gun: Special Collector’s Edition (1986)

One angle on this newness was the boys' deep friendships, masculine and competitive but also tender and intimate.

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

Spider-Man 2 (2004)

Uncomfortable with his abilities (they have come on him like a virus), Peter repeatedly returns to his central question: Who am I?"

READ more
The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement (2004)

'When you do a love story as part of your film, you need to do a lot of love scenes, so we can see the lovers together,' explains Garry Marshall.

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Naked Jungle (1954)

What sets this Naked Jungle apart is a remarkably astute depiction of the collision of the sexes, in its addition of a mail order bride for the protagonist.

READ more

13 Dec 2004 // 1:00 AM

I, Robot (2004)

'It's harder and harder to make straight-ahead sci-fi and straight-ahead comic book movies,' says Akiva Goldsman.

READ more

12 Dec 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Various Artists: MTV2 Presents: Shortlist 2004 Nominees

The Shortlist Awards are kind of like the Grammys for indie music.

READ more
	Wayne Shorter: Footprints: The Life and Music of Wayne Shorter

The career retrospective is a particularly fraught commercial exercise when it comes to jazz. Musicians that recorded as sidemen on one label released LPs under

READ more
	Pet Shop Boys: Somewhere [DVD]

The real story with Pet Shop Boys and with Somewhere is the music, and on that point the show is flawless.

READ more
	Michel Portal / Richard Galliano: Concerts

The squeezebox is definitely back beyond being damned by George Shearing’s repeating the old definition of a gentleman: a man who could play the

READ more
	Jerry Lee Lewis: I Am What I Am [DVD]

Jerry Lee Lewis: certifiable icon or rogue caricature? The pianist-vocalist has been characterized as both, perhaps inevitably: he is known as much for his firebrand

READ more

12 Dec 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Kid Casanova: self-titled

If anything bad could be said for the advent of Bob Dylan and the Beatles, it might be that their ability to write their own

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article