Reviews

29 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Three Faces of Eve (1957)

As Eve, a young woman whose life unravels following her diagnosis with multiple personality disorder, Joanne Woodward is spectacular.

READ more

29 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Ragtime (1981)

Profound as Coalhouse walker's story might be, Ragtime is about far more.

READ more

29 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Hero (2002)

Hero reimagines history in a way that underlines its tragedy.

READ more

29 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Clearing (2004)

The kidnapping sets in motion a thriller that doubles as a character study, delving into Wayne and Eileen's strained marriage.

READ more
The Blind Swordsman: Zatoichi (2003)

'In Japan,' says Takeshi Kitano, 'cops and yakuzas are the only two occupations that deal with death or violence daily.'"

READ more
	Various Artists: Doctors, Professors, Kings & Queens: The Big Ol’ Box of New Orleans

The morning after listening to the wealth of delectable tunes, you'll awaken with a sympathetic hangover, tasting gumbo on your tongue, and swear that you were there the night before.

READ more
	Amanda Woodward: La Decadence de la Decadence

The far reach of American pop culture surprises me sometimes. Hailing from France, Amanda Woodward is the condensed name of Heather Locklear’s character on

READ more

28 Nov 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Gwen Stefani: Love.Angel.Music.Baby.

With an open mind and a deep love for some of the best aspects of mainstream pop music from two distinct eras -- the late 1980s and the early '00s -- Stefani's almost science-fiction-like fusion of these disparate strands of supposedly hollow pop music can come off sounding like the greatest of artistic achievements.

READ more

28 Nov 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Stiv Bators: Disconnected (Reissue)

Issued after the break-up of the Dead Boys and before his albums with the Wanderers and Lords of the New Church, Stiv Bators’s one

READ more
	Mobb Deep: Americaz Nightmare

I prefer to blame the record industry for Mobb Deep’s malformed career. Judging from the living proof of the duo’s ability to whip

READ more
	Alison Krauss and Union Station: Lonely Runs Both Ways

Alison Krauss has the voice of an angel. This phrase may sound so overblown that it becomes trite, but it is true.

READ more
	Fela Kuti: Music Is the Weapon [DVD]

I can’t think of many musicians who’ve campaigned to create their own country, as Fela Kuti once did, to save his Lagos slum

READ more
	Norah Jones and the Handsome Band: Live in 2004 [DVD]

The DVD serves as confirmation that, yes, Norah is Norah, and effectively drives home everything that has now become part of the 'Norah Package'. Quiet, withdrawn demeanor? Check. Slow, peaceful tunes? Check. Total control over a positively velvet voice? Check.

READ more
	Harold Budd & Brian Eno: Ambient 2: The Plateaux of Mirror

Evolving metaphors, in my opinion, is what artists do. They produce work that gives you the chance to experience in a safe environment, because nothing

READ more

28 Nov 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Aqui: First Trip Out

AQUI is one of the most amazing rock bands I ever saw . . . see ‘em before their [sic] famous! —Tom Ritchford I cannot take advice from

READ more
Taxi: The Complete First Season

If Alex is the dad, Louie is the drunk uncle who visits without calling first.

READ more

24 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

SCTV Volume 2

The material shows how much the SCTV crew did not engage in either obvious parody or simple knee-jerk laughs.

READ more
Arrested Development: Season One

Arrested Development is Bad Behavior writ large, and it is the most consistently funny half-hour to grace the Idiot Box in a long time.

READ more

24 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Unconstitutional: The War on Our Civil Liberties (2004)

A film that sheds light on discrimination and energetically calls for a re-evaluation of U.S. priorities.

READ more

24 Nov 2004 // 1:00 AM

Roadgames (1981)

Roadgames is ultimately a clever Hitchcockian soufflé that 'is full of air, but rises nicely.'"

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article