Reviews
	Damian Lazarus: Bugged Out Presents Suck My Deck

So often, even the best efforts of top-name DJs can seem rote -- but Suck My Deck is at the very least interesting from the beginning to the very end.

READ more
	A Gun Called Tension: A Gun Called Tension

The resulting amalgam is more thoughtful than the pop thud of Rage Against the Machine or Linkin Park, but not as clever as any of the aforementioned.

READ more

28 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Embrace: Out of Nothing

Out of Nothing is the sound of music being super-sized and stuffed into a happy meal. All that's missing is a toy. Oh wait -- the album comes with a screensaver!"

READ more
	Stephen Bruton: From the Five

Longtime Texas musician gets his dadrock on.

READ more

This June I set out on the road with my fellow Spinto-Heads to chronicle the band's first 'real' East Coast tour and relish what would most likely be their last shows in obscurity...

READ more
The Dick Cavett Show: Rock Icons

For classic rock fans, the set contains some fascinating moments, and it's a testament to Cavett's willingness to play with format that they don't seem dated.

READ more
The Perfect Manhattan by Leanne Shear and Tracey Toomey

The novel, in spite of its tendency to linger on the shallow side of appearances, makes some very telling points about life in the Hamptons.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Valiant (2005)

Though Valiant is cheerful enough, its actors, animators, and audience have all been let down by its lack of ambition.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Undiscovered (2005)

A non-meeting on a subway platform serves as the first scene in the exceptionally uninteresting Undiscovered.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Sorum (2001)

Sorum might be best described as a ghost story, but without ghosts.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

Mysterious Skin (2005)

Rendered in vivid colors, Neil's past appears more lucid than the present, but his memories are also selective and likely unreliable.

READ more
The 40-Year-Old Virgin (2005)

Here, a one-note title evolves into a 3-D landscape of guffaws and awws.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Cave (2005)

Space is a primary concern in a movie called The Cave.

READ more

26 Aug 2005 // 1:00 AM

The Brothers Grimm (2005)

Will worries out loud, 'Nothing makes sense here, it's like being inside Jake's head.'"

READ more
	Various Artists: Putumayo Presents Mali

Almost every track feels like a signpost pointing me in a direction I'd like to travel, but then the song ends and I must keep moving. It is a bewildering experience.

READ more
	Poi Dog Pondering: The Best of Poi Dog Pondering (The Austin Years)

Excellent early career retrospective from this eclectic collective, neither hectic or corrective, just respectful and resplendent.

READ more
	The Magic Numbers: The Magic Numbers

The British band of the summer drop one of the debuts of the year; an unabashedly sentimental breath of fresh air as uplifting as it is unadorned. Prepare to succumb.

READ more

25 Aug 2005 // 11:00 PM

	Hockey Night: Keep Guessing

We all might miss Pavement, but if we learned anything from Mary Shelley it's that we shouldn't try to resurrect our loved ones.

READ more
	Philip Catherine, Bert Joris, Brussels Jazz Orchestra: Meeting Colours

Beautifully played, fairly conventional, but nice, Catherine moves beyond his quartet to playing with one of the currently best big bands in the business.

READ more
	Andy Caldwell: Late Night With Andy Caldwell

This is one of the most pure examples of unpretentious, irrepressible deep house I've come across in some time.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Cage the Elephant Ignite Central Park with Kickoff for Summerstage Season

// Notes from the Road

"Cage the Elephant rocked two sold-out nights at Summerstage and return to NYC for a free show May 29th. Info on that and a preview of the full Summerstage schedule is here.

READ the article