Reviews
	North Mississippi Allstars: Hill Country Revue

Brothers Luther and Cody Dickinson have always had somewhat of an ambitious plan for their band, the North Mississippi Allstars. Over the past five years,

READ more
	Teedra Moses: Complex Simplicity

I wasn’t feeling this record until my homey Julianne Shepherd convinced me that it was genius. Now I think I like it better than

READ more

17 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Maplewood: self-titled

Sadly, my mirrors have been free from coke trails and spilt liquor for years. The palms still sway and there’s still sand in my

READ more
	Le Fly Pan Am: N’Ecoutez Pas

Le Fly Pan Am has been with Constellation, a label noted for its arty instrumental music, since its inception. On N’Ecoutez Pas, its third

READ more
	Atomic 7: ...En Hillbilly Caliente

Best known—if at all—from his days with surf rock weirdos Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet (and then probably best known for providing

READ more
Team America: World Police (2004)

The much-ballyhooed parody of Jerry Bruckheimer-style action pictures is aptly violent, delirious, and outsized (in its miniature-puppet way).

READ more

15 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Shall We Dance? (2004)

Paulina is not only gorgeous, athletic, and lithe, she's also in need of solace.

READ more

15 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Primer (2004)

Even in sparse, low-budgeted, minimalism, time travel brings problems of causality, embodiedness, and ethics.

READ more

15 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Bright Young Things (2004)

Stephen Fry can't throw us any curveballs because he's got to stick close to Waugh, so he subjects us to formulaic depravity for three-quarters of the film, with minor variations.

READ more
	Various Artists: Rarities & B-Sides

As is the case with so many music phenomenons, the heyday of Chicago’s legendary Trax Records was neither as cut-and-dry nor as glamorous as

READ more
	Yohimbe Brothers: The Tao of Yo

“This album is a remarkable audio journey that begs for a change of consciousness, both on the creative and political forefront.” Sounds elegant, articulate, intelligent,

READ more

14 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Elliott Smith: From a Basement on the Hill

By the time of his passing last October, Elliott Smith had all but evaporated from my musical worldview. I have a fuzzy memory of seeing

READ more
	Branford Marsalis Quartet: Eternal

I am not au fait with every detail of the in-the-past row between Branford Marsalis and his younger, even more famous trumpeter brother. It seemed

READ more
	Killradio: Raised on Whipped-Cream

As the saying goes, we have all been cursed to live in very interesting times. I can remember a period not too long ago when

READ more

14 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Graves: Yes Yes Okay Okay

Graves, which consists of singer-songwriter Greg Olin and assorted guests, are a thoroughly pleasant band. Yes Yes Okay Okay is full of pretty, low-key melodies

READ more

14 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Green Day: American Idiot

If, 10 months ago, you had told me that Green Day would release one of the very best pop records of the year, I would have laughed.... American Idiot is a work of staggering ambition, made all the more impressive by the fact that they make it all look so damn effortless. Considering the fact that Billy Joe is still only 32 years old, it boggles the mind to imagine just where the band can go from here.

READ more
	The Fairways: This is Farewell

Joni Mitchell once remarked, “You don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone”. That’s certainly the case with San Francisco indie

READ more
	Burrito Deluxe: The Whole Enchilada

Burrito Deluxe was born two years ago when Tommy Spurlock put together a group to record a tribute project to Gram Parsons, founder of the

READ more

14 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Issa Bagayogo: Tassoumakan

Some people want their African music to sound really “authentically African”, whatever that means. Others want their African music to sound like other forms of

READ more

14 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

When you look deeper, subtle aspects of the artwork come to life, making you wonder how you didn't see it at first glance.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article