Reviews

The Mendoza Line Marah Mar A triple-header of critically acclaimed alternative rock hit the stage and was met by a nearly empty nightclub. The musicians

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Iron & Wine Maybe it’s just a hangover from watching that Carpenters telemovie one too many times as a kid, but I still get

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

I didn’t know what to expect from the Hidden Cameras’ performance here in Ottawa last week. As I waited for the band to appear,

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Cheap TrickPhoto: Carla Dragotti “The dream police, they live inside of my head / The dream police, they come to me in my bed / The dream

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Wanda Does It

Wanda Does It tries to have it both ways, or several ways. It's difficult to tell exactly what is and isn't the 'reality' portion.

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Wife Swap

Wife Swap lets particpants make these decisions rather than turning to experts who preach updated versions of 19th century domestic science (good homes make good families).

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Kevin Hill

Hill's metamorphosis from self-centered stud to compassionate caregiver is, of course, the series' major story arc.

READ more
Drew Carey’s Green Screen Show

The mix of live action and animation celebrates the anarchy made possible in animation while expanding the possibilities of bodily comedy.

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Desperate Housewives

In its acerbic yet frothy way, Desperate Housewives satirizes women's clichéd, impossible choices.

READ more

11 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

dr. vegas

dr. vegas burdened by a shaky premise (is it a comedy? is it a drama?) and some of the limpest lines penned this side of Coldplay's lyrics.

READ more

10 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Various Artists: The Rough Trade Field Guide to Music, Volume One

If you were born any time before 1980, chances are quite great that you have a small assortment of 45s sitting around on a shelf somewhere,

READ more

10 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Vas: Feast of Silence

Feast of Silence is the most recent recording by the talented duo of Azam Ali and Greg Ellis, who together form the group, Vas. The

READ more
	Menomena: I Am the Fun Blame Monster

Menomena’s debut album I Am the Fun Blame Monster has official release dates in September, but it’s been available and circulating since it

READ more

10 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Eugene Edwards: My Favorite Revolution

When you hear lots of music, it’s easy to get jaded. Yet now and again, something stands out as exceptional. Eugene Edwards’ My Favorite

READ more

10 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Engine Down: self-titled

The press sheet for the new self-titled release from Richmond, Virginia post-hardcore rockers Engine Down boasts of the album’s “potential for massive success on

READ more
	Roy Davis, Jr.: Chicago Forever

Like punk, house music is very closely tied to the geographic identity of certain distinctive “scenes”. Just as the American punk world can be easily

READ more
	American Music Club: Love Songs for Patriots

The climate of this year in music has been like one giant group therapy session. Bands you never thought you’d hear from again suddenly

READ more

8 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Yes Men (2004)

The Yes Men (sometimes also known as Andy Bichlbaum and Mike Bonanno) engage in prankster-style direct activism, revealing the illogical and hypocritical practices of institutions that habitually 'put profits ahead of everything else'.

READ more

8 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

The Take (2004) - PopMatters Film Review
)

In our imperfect world, the role of political leaders remains decisive.

READ more

8 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Taxi (2004)

Belle is set up to work against stereotypes: athletic, aggressive, mechanically inclined, she's a black woman NASCAR fan.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

// Announcements

"PopMatters is on a short summer publishing break. We resume Monday, July 6th.

READ the article