Reviews

10 Apr 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Jeff Hanson: self-titled

Sophomore solo record from St. Paul, Minnesota singer/songwriter is another aural document of an otherworldly voice.

READ more

10 Apr 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Garbage: Bleed Like Me

Bleed Like Me is an album of contrived power-pop songs that chart the lows and lows of yet another failing relationship. Personally, the album uses too many catches, deliberate hooks and gimmicks to make this anything that will be played in my house too often.

READ more
	Daft Punk: Human After All

For those about to rock, we... download you? Daft Punk continues to tease your hair, while slipping you a spyware mickey. 'Dude. Did we f--- Staten Island last night?'"

READ more
	The Black Maria: Lead Us to Reason

Ex-Grade frontman Kyle Bishop's new project is a disappointing, uninspired trip down the alternative FM radio dial.

READ more
	Rory Block: From the Dust

As wild as an Oklahoma dust storm or as soft and natural as the air we breathe, Rory Block takes the country blues into the 21st century.

READ more

8 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Sahara (2005)

No surprise, all these plots -- whether engineered by villains or heroes -- rehearse imperial fantasies at the expense of African tribespeople.

READ more

8 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Monsieur N (2003)

Exile is a complicated business for Napoleon Bonaparte.

READ more

8 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Kung Fu Hustle (2004)

The movie's delightful mix of action and makes these fight scenes little stories all their own.

READ more

8 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Fever Pitch (2005)

Fever Pitch is something more complicated than a paean to the Red Sox mystique.

READ more
Dallas Wayne: I’m Your Biggest Fan

Dallas Wayne has constructed one of the great country albums of our time.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Radar Bros.: The Fallen Leaf Pages

'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' must be the official Radar Bros. credo.

READ more
	Okkervil River: Black Sheep Boy

This reviewer's early, although confident, pick for Album of the Year.

READ more
	Wes Montgomery: Smokin’ at the Half Note [Reissue]

Reissue of the landmark jazz guitar album is appended with six additional tracks from the original live sessions.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Momus: Otto Spooky

Scotland's globe-trotting closet genius delves deeper into his self-styled world of 'chanson concrete', cloaking tuneful epic narratives within daunting layers of sound and noise.

READ more
	Jack Johnson: In Between Dreams

Jack Johnson will never be an artiste. Still -- the world needs him!"

READ more
	Fluid Ounces: The Whole Shebang

It's not always in a name as Fluid Ounces proves by deviating from the norm with a decidedly listenable album.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 10:00 PM

	Dinosaur Jr.: Bug

How something so dissonant and detached can still remain so ebulliently catchy reveals itself to be Bug's greatest strength.

READ more
Sapphire and Steel: The Complete Series

We don't know their past, we don't know the extent of their connection, but we're in love with these characters.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Ellen: The Complete Season Two

We are more eager to see how Ellen is going to muck it up than to believe she's looking for a partner.

READ more

7 Apr 2005 // 12:00 AM

Zero Day (2003)

Coccio's movie looks both chillingly insightful and despairingly naïve.

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

In Motion: On the Emptiness of Progress

// Moving Pixels

"Nils Pihl calls it, "Newtonian engagement", that is, when "an engaged player will remain engaged until acted upon by an outside force". That's "progress".

READ the article