Reviews

18 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Castanets: Cathedral

Asthmatic Kitty, the label founded by Sufjan Stevens, has been quietly assembling a group of artists who produce soft experimental music with intense, often spiritual,

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 4:00 PM

	Azeem: Show Business

Whereas most indie hip-hop releases have the kind of limp-wristed beats that just wash through your ears like musical Calgon, every beat on this album hits your cerebral cortex like a brillo pad. This is as fine a rap album as you'll hear all year.

READ more

Bruce Springsteen Theorists understand that all music is political. As the French economist Jacques Attali has noted, the arrangement of sound helps fashion societies and

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Ten years ago a hairy, mirthful trio of teeth and textured tunes appeared on the musical radar of every fan of post-punk-pop in the form

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Clyde Stubblefield It is no revelation to say nowadays that hip hop dominates the world of commercial music. But where would hip-hop be without the

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

I’m not cool, but I thought that was the point—you know, of that whole subcultural identity thing. Of course, there is the obligatory

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Tess (Special Edition) (1979)

It is the emphasis, in both Hardy's novel and Polanski's skillful adaptation, on Tess as an individual that makes her story timeless.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Judgment at Nuremberg (1961)

The investigation into issues of patriotism and accountability in Judgment at Nuremberg resonates strongly with contemporary American politics.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Io non ho paura (2003)

Michele also loses faith in the adults who are supposed to look after him.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Intermission (2003)

Intermission repeatedly frustrates audience expectations.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Vol. 02 (2004)

The story can be read as an oblique critique of mass media: brain-hacking literalizes the process by which our experiences are constructed by the powers that be.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Conquest of Space (1955)

Merritt's protests actually date pretty well -- contemporary liberal sensibilities often subscribe to the view that space travel is a continuation or extension of the colonial impulse.

READ more

18 Oct 2004 // 1:00 AM

Buried in the Sand: The Deception of America (2004)

Buried's real value is not as conservative propaganda, but rather, as a distilled example of conservative political spin.

READ more

17 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Various Artists: Poor Boy: Songs of Nick Drake

The same intricate acoustic guitar figure opens Poor Boy: Songs of Nick Drake as does 1994’s Way to Blue: An Introduction to Nick Drake. And

READ more
	Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Live at Montreux 1982 & 1985 [DVD]

What a difference a few years can make in the life of a musician. In 1982, Stevie Ray Vaughan and bandmates Chris Layton and Tommy Shannon

READ more

17 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	R.E.M.: Around the Sun

Kick me out of the cult. To be a true-blue, diehard member of a rock band’s cult following there are certain unspoken rules. Perhaps

READ more
	North Mississippi Allstars: Hill Country Revue

Brothers Luther and Cody Dickinson have always had somewhat of an ambitious plan for their band, the North Mississippi Allstars. Over the past five years,

READ more
	Teedra Moses: Complex Simplicity

I wasn’t feeling this record until my homey Julianne Shepherd convinced me that it was genius. Now I think I like it better than

READ more

17 Oct 2004 // 11:00 PM

	Maplewood: self-titled

Sadly, my mirrors have been free from coke trails and spilt liquor for years. The palms still sway and there’s still sand in my

READ more
	Le Fly Pan Am: N’Ecoutez Pas

Le Fly Pan Am has been with Constellation, a label noted for its arty instrumental music, since its inception. On N’Ecoutez Pas, its third

READ more
More Recent Reviews
//Mixed media
//Blogs

Blood and Thunder: Black Sabbath’s ‘Sabotage’ at 40

// Sound Affects

"In 1975, with lawyers in the studio and a financial empire crumbling, Black Sabbath fought back with their last classic album of the decade.

READ the article